Inaugural run with Mrs Garmin

After last weeks awful long run I thought of a cunning plan for this weeks long run. I planned to drive to Exeter and run along the river there. However this cunning plan had to be changed due to torrential rain the past two days and hubby’s fear that I would slip in to the River Exe!

We hatched cunning plan part two last night when we expectantly had a Madam free evening and went for a ‘fresh’ walk along Exmouth seafront. This is flat I thought! Hubby said it is popular with runners so that was it sorted! On checking my lovely app walkjogrun I discovered a cycle path leading out of Exmouth following the estuary towards Exeter.

An early start (missing out on a lazy madam free lay in) saw hubby drop me at one end of the Esplanade a little after 7.30 am. I ran up on to the cliff to see how far I could follow the path out of Exmouth towards Devon Cliffs, not far as it happens before I was met with muddy paths and as I was wearing some shiny new New Balance trainers I headed back to the town centre. I got totally disoriented around the Quay but did note a few shops and eateries that will be nice to nose around in the warmer weather. After a pitt stop in the loos (which I was so grateful to see open and so must the residents of Exmouth be), I headed for the Exe Estuary Trail,  (you can read about here if you so desire). It is a cycle trail still in the making, when it is finished it will be 26 miles long and I am sure they will run a marathon along it not long after! The surface is tarmac or wooden path and whats more it is relatively FLAT-hooray. There was lots of people walking, running and cycling on it and I was glad it was very well sign posted. I got to Topsham and admittedly a hill and turned around and headed back.

It was cold and here courtesy of Mrs Garmin is the proof

weather(Why do the Americans insist on using Fahrenheit but have gone metric with distance?)

This run was far better than last weeks run and I was pleased that once I sorted Mrs Garmin out with the internet I could see that mile 18 was my second quickest! Very pleased also with Mrs Garmin, far more sophisticated and communicative than Mr Garmin clearly it is a woman thing. She also gave me this so I could show you!

map of ex

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Inaugural run with Mrs Garmin

  1. zoecakes says:

    I was thinking 34 deg sounds warm until I saw it wasn’t Celsius and now I have no idea why temperature it is! 😉
    Well done on your 18 miles!

  2. Am very jealous of your running landscapes getting very bored with Springfield!

  3. abradypus says:

    Flat! In Devon? Amazing.

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Nice map but i don’t understand what 34 is either!!

  5. emmarossruns says:

    Love that you’ve named her Mrs Garmin! And well done on the run

Leave a Reply

