When?

When that’s what I want to know when will the long runs become easier? Each one I do is harder and slower surely the opposite should happen. Or maybe they are meant to always be tough being the nature of the beast.
This morning when I got up it was pouring with rain, by the time I ate my peanut butter on bread it was snowing. I returned to bed! Snuggled close to the warm hubby waiting for the white flakes to stop which they did all too soon. I ran 18.5 miles slower than a tortoise going up hill in treacle (or molasses as they would say in North America) does that matter? Not to anyone else but to me yes. If it had felt fine the slowness would matter not so much but it was tough, tougher than childbirth (ok this might be an exaggeration).
After lunch Madam and I went in to Exeter to claim my free trainers from Sweatshop courtesy of Killerton Parkrun. I chose these beauties not for running but for holiday walking in, like slippers they are shame they look like Parma Violets!

20130317-154452.jpg

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When?

  1. Dear Mrs. Wells, please be advised long runs are meant to be slow very slow, and then inbetween you dash up and down them there hills and put the two together you’ll be super fit for the LVM! ps love yer parma’s 🙂 x

  2. The best part is that you got out there and ran. It doesn’t matter how slow. You did it! Keep it up and I am sure they will begin to feel shorter or at least that is what I am hoping for.

  3. plustenner says:

    18.5 miles is awesomw, it is all about time on feet, not speed.. LOVE the trainers

  4. paigesato says:

    as slow as molasses going up hill in january. that’s MY long run!

  5. fortnightflo says:

    LOL I agree they never do get easier! But 18.5 is 18.5 so well done!

Leave a Reply

