Naked Strength half marathon-New Forest

For those of you fed up with my moaning about hills DO NOT READ ON.

The Slay the Dragon 10K was described as ‘undulating’ it was HILLY.

The New Forest Naked Strength half was described as ‘flat’ it ***** wasn’t how could you describe this hills

as FLAT? I am going to sue them for misrepresentation.

  • Miles 0 to 1 down hill in which I had a close encounter with a dog
  • Miles 2 to 4 it started to rain
  • Mile 2 realised a good time was not going to be possible
  • Miles 3 to 7 had a stitch
  • Miles 5 to 8 it poured
  • Miles 4 to 7 were very exposed and very wet under foot, hard to avoid the puddles at times lots of weaving trying to find dryest route
  • Mile 8 passed dog lady (think she finished at this point)
  • Mile 8 to 11 saw not another running very lonely
  • Mile 11 is that a runner I see ahead?
  • Mile 12 catch up with walking runner and asked her to run with me to end. She was not feeling well and was very concerned we were the last. I assured her there was runners behind me (unless they dropped out no one passed me after mile 1 really). We chatted down the hill to the finish. This was her second half she ran her first two weeks ago on her 18th birthday in under 2 hours and was very disheartened with her performance today. (Sounds familiar!) I let her finish ahead of me! At the end whilst they took our chips off I made sure she had family to go to and met up with them, poor girl looked wiped.

It was muddy! These socks were white when I set out this morning.

mudtide

bath was not the only thing with a tide mark!

On a positive note I finished, got a medal and a shirt!

shirtwould I do it again? NO!

The 2 hour drive home was interesting with me alternating between wanting the toilet and feeling like I was going to throw up, so drove with a plastic bag on my lap, for the latter and hoped for the best with the former.

Then the fog rolled infoggy it was not a fun drive!

Good news tomorrow is a NO RUN day big Madam and little Madam are confiscating my trainers!

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Naked Strength half marathon-New Forest

  1. paigesato says:

    Nice mile-by-mile replay! And definitely not flat.

  2. abradypus says:

    Noooo! That doesn’t sound fun at all! Enjoy your rest day today, and well done for persevering to the bitter end.

  3. zoecakes says:

    If they think that’s flat, I hate to think what their hilly is like! 😉
    Well done on finishing 🙂 🙂

  4. never2late4 says:

    Don’t envy you on that course, very interesting interpretation of ‘flat’. Well done on finishing, hope there’s better weather for the next one 🙂

  5. plustenner says:

    wow! that is one seriously hilly graph, well done! Enjoy your day off today xx

  6. fortnightflo says:

    OHMYGOD that is sooooooo NOT flat – lying b*stards! Well done you for encouraging that girl at the end, that’s the Mum in you coming out!

  7. Pingback: Dursley dozen | shazruns

  8. Pingback: Dursley Dozen 2017 race report and results - dursley running club

Leave a Reply

