New exercise = new aches

Monday was a rest day.

I should have left it at that.

Instead I decided to do the new Nell McAndrew Peak Energy exercise DVD, that I recently purchased. For those of you not in the know Nell was a glamour model here in the UK and has recently become known more for running the London Marathon in an amazing time, last year she managed it in under 3 hours! Apparently this is her 7th exercise DVD which is news to me, but I thought a bit of cross training might be an idea as my body is so used to running.

Mistake number one (no that’s not buying it) was not getting dressed properly to do it, a sports bra is necessary it seems.

Mistake number two was not putting trainers on, front room floor was not kind to my legs!

On the plus side I enjoyed what I did, not completing the whole thing due to mistake one and mistake two. If you struggle, like me, with making your left arm go in the opposite direction to your right leg, as many exercise DVD’s want you to do, then this will be perfect for you. At all times both arms travel together as do both legs. Seems they used the mantra‘keep it simple for stupid’ when creating this, it works, its high cardio but you could easily reduce this by dropping arms or slowing the feet. A couple of times I found myself dangerously close to the TV so will need to start at the back of the room as most is done on the spot but I seem to be unable stay in one place which actually is probably better for the carpet!

Fortunately today I ran my required 30 minute speed (mmm) session at 6.30 am this morning before the aches came out, now I can barely walk, my shins are killing me.

Cant wait to do it again but will wait till I can walk, obviously.

Awful weather todayHail

hail, snow, sleet, better be better tomorrow as its madams school cross-country and I’m going along to watch!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New exercise = new aches

  1. ilovelucca says:

    how does she run with that bust??? and her times are FAST!! imagine if she was like me with no bust to slow her down…holy crap…she would be smoking.. what is lying on the side above?

  2. ilovelucca says:

    oops good luck to madam for cross country…

  3. is that a dead deer in your garden ?!!

  4. fortnightflo says:

    I thought it was dead too!

Leave a Reply

