A First for madam

Today was the day madam did her first Parkrun.

This was her pre start warming up

DSCN2094

Please note blue sky and clean trainers!

This is an action shot (taken whilst running) of the scenery

DSCN2095

Sorry about the angle but like I say I was moving at the time!

These were the trainers at the end.

DSCN2096

Now on to the match run report.

(I have run several Race for Life’s with madam and mostly I have spent the miles badgering, cajoling, nagging, chasing with water and bribing her to get her round. I fully expected today to be the same.) However…..

We set off in to the mud laughing at each other as we slipped all over the place, I encouraged her to go ahead rather than run with me as there were 71 runners at the start so a bit congested. I told her I would catch her up. Errrrrrrrrm that did not happen (last bloody time I will tell her to do this I can tell you) I could see her for most of the run but could not catch her. I was so pleased she seemed to be running so effortlessly. At the end I was greeted by her wearing the biggest smile, if she had been wearing a watch I am sure she would have been tapping it as if to say ‘whats kept you?’

The results are in:-

Final

My brother asked me ‘What happened to our old family tradition of not letting the kids win? to which I replied ‘believe me if I could have beaten I would have!’

Those of you who have done Parkruns know that you are sent all kinds of stats after the run and I was thrilled to discover I was first in my age category and wasted no time in relaying this info to madam who suggested ‘I dont think there was anyone else your age there’. ‘There must have been’ I argued. I checked, there is a good reason why I was first and that was because indeed I was the only! Oh well, I did get a PB the second week in a row.

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A First for madam

  1. plustenner says:

    huge congratulations to you both!

  2. rubysneaker says:

    Great work, both of you!! I’ve also been ‘first in age grade’ before (under the same circumstances, and with only 21 parkrun starters that week haha), but hey – we came first, and that’s the important part! 😉

  3. zoecakes says:

    Well done on your PB and well done to Madam on completing her first parkrun! 🙂

  4. abradypus says:

    Fabulous! You’ll catch her next time 🙂

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Wow well done Katelyn!! And Shaz for the PB!

Leave a Reply

