Questions, deep thoughts and lazy cowardly ginger cat

Todays deep and meaningful blog comes to you courtesy of madam who asked me two questions this week that I thought I would share with you…..

  1. Why did you start running? Madam cannot remember a mum who did not run, but this was not always the case. I have always been fairly active, swimming, badminton, tennis, cycling but running? Never. Coming from an athletic family you would think I would have taken it up earlier, but no I  imagine the same reason was why I didn’t. Anyway my answer to madam was quick and I thought very funny ‘to get away from you’ I told her falling about laughing, she however did not find this amusing at ALL! This in part was true though. Madam was a velcro toddler never leaving my side, creating when left with Dad, grandparents and at nursery. I ran for me time. The main reason was training for Race for Life, I decided to do this when hearing that a dear friend many miles away had cancer and I wanted to do something and the distance made anything else difficult.  (3 miles seems just a small distance now compared to what I do now). Sometimes whilst out running I think of her and imagine her looking down smiling and saying ‘I am the reason your out doing that’ I think she would find it hilarious! That was nine years ago and shazruns has evolved, running is now part of me and part of who I am. There are times whan I run more than others like January and June, there are times when I enjoy it more than others but run I do and run I will.
  2. When will you stop running? That was simple-when I cant do it anymore.

Today was a tempo 5 miles. It wasn’t pretty. It wasn’t pacy. It wasn’t 5 miles! Janathon is done.

I leave you with pictures of Oscar to prove that despite popular opinion he does move during the day………………..

Oscar

sometimes he comes down and looks out of the window, see so not lazy at all!

osc

 

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon, virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Questions, deep thoughts and lazy cowardly ginger cat

  1. Michelle S says:

    Like the Post…I too started running because of a sick friend.. I thought if i ran enough she would be ok…Now, i run because it is part of me (its like an addiction) but also because I know my friend would want me to live every minute I can and I could see her telling me to get off my lazy arse…
    Love Oscar…he is a gorgeous ginger…yes, they do move, contrary to what we all believe:)

  2. Running for you. The best reason.

  3. abradypus says:

    Lazy? How can you say that when he gets up so frequently to turn around!

  4. henniemavis says:

    Since you are so actively moving about (running!), someone (Oscar) must take up the slack for lounging & do your share 🙂 He is darling. Our ginger cat Eddie fully approves of Oscar!

    And your reasons for running are wonderful. I wish I could say I even partly run for someone else, but I was/am wholly selfish from the get-go. I’m ashamed to say I don’t have children to need a break from, or any ill friends who would see fitness as tribute. I think I may have thought of running as the closest thing to being able to run away… from my everyday life… in my mind. It’s like meditation — forces me to take a mental break & focus on footing, breathing, music or scenery — but with physical benefits as well. It’s just… nice. Enjoy your first NON-Janathon day!

  5. diana says:

    I can attest… the person “far away” was my Mum. And YES DEFINATELY,, she would be looking down at her thinking she is crazy!!! BUT, she would also be very very touched that Sharon started doing this “partly” for her. I know my Dad is STILL TOUCHED when he hears of Sharon running for cancer research. Love you lots dear friend!!!! (btw, Sharon taught me many many things about being a good parent!!!!!)

  6. sharon if that’s your view you cannot moan about hills – it might be flat in essex but wow! it’s gorgeous where you are! me jealous. – er yeh !!

    I can’t remember why I started running, think it was the same as one of your followers – wanted to run away! but it’s great to be able to do something that can raise money for others 😉

  7. fortnightflo says:

    Very good reasons for running – I agree with NMOAR – running for you is the best one.

Leave a Reply

