Women on the run

Tonight was my women on the run group, I made sure my kit was on at 5 that way I could not back out when I check the temperature before I left. It was 1 degree by the way and that’s cold.

The leader of the group greeted us with the fabulous news that tonight would be a hill session. Oh joy I thought, as if it is not bad enough that every time I run in Devon I have to do hills now I have an evening of it. Suck it up Shaz I told myself.

We jogged, we warmed up, we stretched, we got to the hill.

We were told to jog to the white wall, then sprint, then jog nearer the top. Off we set. I wanted to shout at the others “SHE SAID JOG TO THE WALL” as they tore off, I stayed back conserving my energy for the sprint. Suck it up Shaz I told myself again. We did this three times each time I found each one a little easier. How is that possible?

It was cold but we soon warmed up.

Incidently there was a lady there tonight who had just had an operation on her ear and could now hear her son for the first time. How amazing is that?

Now I am home showered, fed and relaxing in my zebra onesie, set to stay up tonight to get some work down to enable a daylight run in the morning.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon, virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Women on the run

  1. RunToInspire says:

    Sprints are heinous… I’m doing some tonight I think… well done for bracing that weather 🙂

  2. femmerun says:

    A zebra onesie!?! I want!!

  3. abradypus says:

    And we definitely need a picture of the zebra onesie 🙂

  4. fortnightflo says:

    OMG I might have to disown you – a onesie – REALLY SHAZ???

Leave a Reply

