Walk Jog Run

I got this fantastic APP for my Ipad and Iphone called walk jog run. It is brilliant. Why?

  • You can put in your postcode and see how many other mad people near you run also and have plotted their runs
  • It lists local runs by mileage so you choose by distance
  • You can choose a run and then choose to follow it watching yourself on a red line along the blue plotted run line
  • When you are new to an area it gives you an idea where to go
  • It has training plans
  • It tells you the hillyness of a course
  • When you have a query about the APP and you email the contact they reply almost immediately (how good is that?)
  • Many other things I have not found yet

(All you App users out there that walk or jog or run GET THIS APP)

Last night I spent some time on the APP and found a 9 mile run that looked simple enough apart from the fact that it was a 9 mile run of course. I set it all up ready for the morning. This however meant that by the morning the Iphone was dead! (Beginners mistake) I plugged it in while I faffed about getting ready checking the route on Ipad and making notes about the course should the battery on phone not last. I headed out and the run passed slowly but uneventfully, other than the phone died and I had not picked up the notes I had made! Genius! This is the adventure past I thought, but did make it home safely and quite proud that I had managed an 9 mile run with same pace as the 4 mile run earlier in week, I know its slow but hey just building up the miles. (Justification? Yep!)

This afternoon we went to Torquay and the treasure came in the form of Madam’s dinnerphototo  which exclaimed ‘Just what I have dreamed about’ so I guess treasure to her.

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon, virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Walk Jog Run

  1. plustenner says:

    App sounds great! Will have a look for it 🙂 well done on your run!

  2. femmerun says:

    I travel a bit with work and use that app for strange cities. I use it on the not so strange ones too.

  3. henniemavis says:

    Since I don’t have a smartphone, apps do me no good (that one does sound fun!)… but my husband definitely wants Madam’s dinner! 🙂

  4. ilovelucca says:

    Sounds very cool…I will check it out:) Hey are you in the Torquay that is by Brixham? Sorry not being weird or stalkerish, just i have a friend who lives there….and because I live way down in NZ, anyone close by brixham is cause for great excitement…esp as i have run around that area….
    Thanks for stopping by my running blog…..runtontorun….Are you doing Janathon too?

  5. ilovelucca says:

    Sorry me again….just saw your milton keyes marathon training plan and yes, you are by brixham….very cool…nice area to run in. Lucky you:)

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Oh I love toad in the hole!

  7. kamera3 says:

    Cool blog & interesting training plan! Apart from the App the WalkJogRun website with training diary, groups and blogs is brilliant as well 🙂

  8. ilovelucca says:

    Reblogged this on Run Tonto Run…… and commented:
    Look at this!!!
    You know I like map my run but check this baby out!!

  9. zoecakes says:

    Sounds like a handy app!

  10. What’s all this stuff about an app?… I can see, and am therefore entirely distracted by the food 🙂

Leave a Reply

