Preparing for January

Yesterday I ran four miles again, most of the time I was running in the middle of the road to avoid the water running down both sides, running with cold wet feet is not appealing to me. When I got home, I got out the OS map of the area, to check out where the footpaths I had spotted go to and how to lengthen the run. This is a map from my Garmin showing the elevation in case you think I am exaggerating the hills!

map

This morning hubby decided a walk was a good idea, taken from his ‘really short walks of Devon’ book. For this we headed to Budleigh Salterton which is close to the sea and has a nature reserve. I did not need binoculars to see this little guy

DSCN2021

Very proud of this picture and think it might be next years Christmas card! The walk became ‘really really short’ due to the path being closed, due to path erosion caused by recent flooding, so we headed back and along the sea wall where it was very bracing!

When we got home I headed out for another run (please note two days in a row=conditioning for Janathon), the Garmin did not co-operate, user error probably!  The planned added loop, did not work as the road was flooded with orange muddy water and I did not fancy ploughing through it so turned around and headed home. This meant that the long steep uphill pictured above was this time downhill. It was exhilarating to run down it, almost out of control, child like, with the wind blowing on my cheeks and a slightly manic smile!!

Rest day tomorrow ahead of a month of blogging and exercising every day!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon, virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preparing for January

Leave a Reply

