Tradition

Our family like most has its own Christmas traditions.

  • Christmas Eve we have Chinese takeaway for dinner
  • We watch the Grinch as a family after dinner
  • Stockings are hung
  • Letter written
  • Carrot, milk and homemade shortbread left out for the guy with the reindeer
  • No TV on the 25 th (or very little)
  • Chocolate can be eaten for breakfast, lunch and dinner
  • Board games played

This year in our new home we have added one

  • Christmas day walk by the sea

We did this yesterday where I managed to snap these

surf twoWhat a fantastic thing to be able to do on Christmas day.

I have also decided to start a new Boxing Day tradition too, but have yet to break the news to the family, this is to run. Todays one saw me heading up a road I have yet to go up even in the car. Actually to use the word road might be an exaggeration. More like a one car width track. It was hilly. Correction it was very uphilly.hillSee it is hilly, BUT the scenery was amazing. At one point I stopped to look at the view (ok to catch my breath), then I noticed that every sheep in the field was looking at me in a sinister Shaun Sheep kind of way! I didn’t dally for long. It was approximately a 4 mile run, but was nice and quiet and I only had to dive in to the bushes twice to avoid becoming flat roadkill, so think this might be a route I take often.

One of the gifts I was lucky enough to get this year was a subscription to Women’s running magazine, so after my run I started to read it and was thrilled to find out two things

  1. ‘Mature women a less likely to suffer experience vertical breast bounce’
  2. ‘You can get faster by running uphill’

I will leave you with these pearls of wisdom and wish you all a Happy 2013. Only 6 more sleeps to Janathon!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon, virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tradition

  1. plustenner says:

    Love the traditions! Especially the one about eating chocolate 🙂 the walk by the seaside looks amazing, and well done on your run!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    O wow that looks beautiful, the run route looks like a fabulous cross country route – I am very envious and already looking at trains to visit in the spring…

Leave a Reply

