Running with ‘the flo’

Yesterday the very mad but lovely Carla drove to mine so we could go for a run together. Mad- as she lives at least an hour away and was driving home again after, only to return to the area tomorrow! (see I told you she was mad!) Lovely-as she is.

The original plan was to run 10 plus miles, this was shortened due to lack of running on both our parts and then altered again on the day as running by the River Chelmer would have been treacherous and foolish.

It was fantastic to run with her again and to catch up on all her running and non running news. We survived puddles, very wet conditions, muddy paths, two yappy ankle biting dogs and even managed to keep going past the Beer festival (a first for Carla, maybe?!)

During Juneathon I became a winner which is an unusual occurrence for me. I won a pair of Zaggora  hot pants courtesy of helsbels. Thanks hels. For those of us raised in the 70’s hot pants means this

Fortunately the hot in the Zaggora ones does not mean bum hanging out hot (thank goodness), but hot sweaty hot. These capris increase your body temperature and in theory your metabolism so increasing weight loss. They landed on my door step this week and were not a bit as expected. Think wet suit capris and you would be on the right track. I was worried about what they would be like to run in but as it was raining yesterday I thought it would be a perfect time to give them a go. The other 70’s link is that when you walk in them they are noisy (for those who remember corduroys), I thought this was be annoying but did not notice it on the run. They were amazingly comfortable and were a lot better than I anticipated they would be.

One down side was on taking them off I was very sweaty with very drenched knickers, so today I decided to go Commando-bad idea as this causes chaffing! There is one place you do not want to chaff and it is there, a quick pitt stop in to the Golden Arches to avail myself of their loo roll to stuff for comfort then I was able to continue.

I do hope their claim of a reduction of two dress sizes in two weeks is not an exaggeration but feel it might be I will keep you posted.

8 miles yesterday 6 today maybe my running is back on track……..

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running with ‘the flo’

  1. John says:

    Congrats on the 8 miles!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    HAHAHAHA!! Can’t believe you tried commando! I really enjoyed our run – so much so I would happily drive to you once a month! Glad you can do Regents park will get in touch nearer the time to sort arrangements. Thanks again for lovely cake too!

  3. Helen says:

    Should have warned you on the sweatiness! They are quite nice to run in though, but I wear baggy shorts over the top to hide the unsightly sweat patches…!

Leave a Reply

