Day five-thirsty work

Late morning (early for some Juneathoners and I won’t mention any names) I set out to run 9 miles. Three miles in I remembered one of the reasons I usually run earlier is that it is cooler. I became very thirsty and thought through my options 1)drinking from River Chelmer (ew), 2)going in to Tesco’s and visiting the ladies to drink from tap (ew) 3)sneaking in to the gym to use their water fountain (embarrassing if stopped as no longer a member) 4)head home to consume cold Pepsi in fridge in one gulp.
Obviously option 4 won so I only ran 7 miles.
Madam is back from cub camp, had a great time and is glad she went! Phew. Only wish I knew that the past few days so I could have enjoyed my weekend also!
RB gave me a book called ‘Keep on running-the highs and lows of a marathon addict’ for my birthday that I am enjoying reading.
A number of ‘athoners this year did their first 26.2 miles so for them this quote from the book, which refers to the first time ‘it’s the only time you will run a marathon wondering simply whether you can finish it. For all the rest, you will be wondering whether you can run faster than you have before. Only in your first marathon is it enough to run it for runnings sake.’
More quotes to follow-am hoping it will encourage me to put IPad down and read!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day five-thirsty work

  1. Ha ha ha who me? La la la !!
    What time was it?

  2. plustenner says:

    sounds like a great book!

  3. abradypus says:

    Option four gets my vote. Now, where did I put that training plan?

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Too true too true. And you don’t run early, you run in the middle of the night…

Leave a Reply

