Decision made

Eight years ago I started this running malarky, a year in I decided to mark a significant birthday with running the FLM. Whilst training for it I used this technology to measure my training runs:-

I am sure it was very accurate!!

Two years later when FLM decided to give me a ballot place, I moved on to this cutting edge technology:-Both methods however (obviously) did not give me an idea of the pace I was doing.

Now 5 years on technology has moved on to Mr Garmin, my faithful if sometimes unreliable techno pal. This is great so now not only do I know how slow I am, but how much I am slowing down over the longer distances!

For some time now I have pondered whether to run with or without my techno pal at MK marathon. After last weeks 18 miles where I tried to run a consistent pace and grew incredibly disheartened and very grumpy (sorry RB) when Mr Garmin displayed and an ever decreasing pace I have decided that he will have to stay at home and I will run the pace that I will run!

Feel better for having come to this decision (well for the moment)

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Milton Keynes Marathon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Decision made

  1. jensruns2011 says:

    Looking back over your posts it looks like your training gone pretty well, impressive! 🙂 Not long to go now!

  2. Couldn’t imagine running without a garmin for pace but having read some of VLM runners race reviews i’m thinking it might be the way to enjoy a marathon!

  3. fortnightflo says:

    I would agree – you just get too hung up on pace. At the end of the day, its 26.2 bloody miles, you should run what you are comfortable with and finish with a smile on your face.

Leave a Reply

