Running Buddy’s First Half

Today was my running buddy’s big day. Today was the day of the Brentwood half marathon.

Rumour has it that she has not been fun to live with this week, fretting about the race, the weather and at times threatening not to run. I knew she would be fine but she was obviously struggling with self belief. ( A runners ailment I think)

Madam and I set off in to the fog to approximately the 4 mile mark. It was surprisingly cold and madam had cold feet due to the fact that despite her much older, wiser mother warning her that to go out in slip on shoes with no socks was not a good idea, herself at 10 years knew better clearly! (Not-dont worry I did point out this fact on more than one occasion).

Finally the lead man came through in front by a good couple of minutes. Then we watched runners or all shapes, sizes, and running gaits come through. The lady next to me was handing out jelly babies and madam stood close with hands cupped hoping to catch the spillage!

We cheered and clapped the runners through, shouting out names on shirts, then along came RB spotted by madam among a group of runners. The cheering and clapping got louder! (Mum you are so embarrassing)

We saw her two more times at mile 8 then at 12 miles. I knew she was in for a good time and she was looking so fresh.

The official time came in at 2.02.51- Wooooooooooooooooooooooooow thats an average pace of 9.22! Mrs Speedy. Do hope she will slow down for me.

(I had one more run to do to complete week 11 of Milton Keynes Marathon training plan, so after putting dinner in the oven I set out. It was meant to be 1m jog 5 miles fartlek 1m jog, however it turned out to be 1 m jog, 2 m fartlek, 4 miles erratic pace even though tried to keep it steady) Now am officially knackered.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Milton Keynes Marathon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running Buddy’s First Half

  1. zoecakes says:

    Wow – that is a fantastic time! Well done to your Running Buddy! 🙂

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Blimey tell RB brilliant going!!

Leave a Reply

