Week 8 again

Yesterday my running buddy and I set out for our long run. This was doubtful at the beginning of the week due to her having fallen arches after last weeks 15 miles run but after physio and new in soles she was good to go. She was also very keen and fresh which meant the first two miles were done at a ridiculous pace! At mile 3 I sensed someone trying to pass and as I turned I saw another female runner. I informed her that she could not go past as we would be deflated if she did so, so she dropped in beside us for the next 3 miles. We chatted about running of course and we discovered she has done over 20 marathons (!!!!!!) and is currently training for the Brighton one. It was great chatting to her and certainly picked our pace up for a while, we parted around the 6 mile mark, maybe we will see her again next week as creatures of habit we run at approximately the same time. We cracked on and I found as ever myself running just behind my buddy, at mile 11 she seemed to have a spurt and I didn’t!! I checked the Garmin, that said the current pace was 9:09, she’s mad I thought and slacked off knowing I’d die if I didn’t. The 13 miles was completed with average pace of 9:47 which is good enough for me and we were very pleased. I do know however that had I been on my own I would have been a LOT slower.

I felt better after this weeks run. Last week I had huge stomach issues before during and after so this week I ….

  • Cut out gluten from my diet (this is very hard) (except on Thursday when on a course and sandwiches were served)
  • Drank lots of water Friday
  • Had breakfast of porridge not energy bar like last week
  • Had immodium an hour before setting out
  • Made own drink of orange juice, water and tsp salt

Happy to report no problems with stomach, very unhappy at the prospect of no bread for another week.

This week was a repeat of week 8 as I has allowed an extra week for training (should have allowed two really) today however I am meant to do a 7 mile run but this is doubtful due to weather and the beginnings of a cold.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Milton Keynes Marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 8 again

  1. plustenner says:

    amazing pace! I can only dream of something starting with a 9 for a long run 🙂 glad to hear your stomach is better, good advice, I may try cutting out bread too, as I am getting cramps when running lately

  2. Happy Runner says:

    Great pace. It blows my mind how much faster and longer we can run with a running buddy by our side. 🙂

  3. abradypus says:

    20 marathons? Amazing. Like your pace, in fact.

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Oh my gosh, 20 marathons! That is very inspirational, And what amazing pace you managed, well done!

  5. zoecakes says:

    Sounds like a very social long run and hope that cold doesn’t develop into anything.

Leave a Reply

