Week Four of Milton Keynes marathon training done but not completed

On Thursdays interval session things did not go well, not due to the running but due to technology. Mr Garmin did not behave at all. He took forever to surface and find a signal then had the cheek to tell me I had run half a mile in 4:33 with an average pace of 10:43. Now I am no Carol Vordeman but this does not tally with me. I adopted the attitude with him that I do with most men that a)lie b)mess about c)get on my nerves and I ignored him. He got his own back by confusing me as the lap button and pause button are the same and at times I did not know if I was paused or lapping, in the end gave up and just restarted every time I needed to do a fast 800 metres (which I discovered was almost half a mile), did this for 6 miles then staggered home.

Saturdays long run was not so long fortunately, my running buddy and I did 7 miles with a pace of 9:40. The last two weeks I have taken a sock along to mop my running nose and we have joked about this, this week I went up market and grabbed a serviette, by the end of the run I had a nice silver nose as the colour came off the napkin! Must find my Dad’s hanky that I used to use.

Discovered a down side to my early mornings this week, when hubby and I went out for a rare dinner and movie and I  managed to sleep my way through Sherlock Holmes-oops.

Tonight I am meant to do a 5 mile race but don’t fancy going out as its cold and will be late by the time I can go. First missed run but don’t suppose it will be the last.

Almost there Janathoners.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Milton Keynes Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Week Four of Milton Keynes marathon training done but not completed

  1. plustenner says:

    I can’t figure out the laps on my garmin either! 🙂 know exactly what you mean about running nose, even in summer, mine runs!

  2. jensruns2011 says:

    Garmins can be very annoying at times! I wouldn’t worry too much about a missed run here or there, sounds like you’re still doing pretty well to me! 🙂

  3. BRS says:

    Wow. You slept through sherlock holmes…musta been tired. What also do you do with men once they have lied, mess you around, and annoyed you….get rid of them and replace them with a newer model! Keep going! x

  4. abradypus says:

    Bad Mr Garmin. Did you send him to bed without his supper?

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Hehe silver nose! I can’t figure out the laps thing either – until I plug it into my pc and then it all makes sense! If you’re notbusy sunday you could always joins up for regents park…or saturday for mile end park run followed by a 7 miles jaunt to hyde park…

  6. zoecakes says:

    Glad it’s not just my Garmin that misbehaves – the other day he rather optimistically advised me that I’d run a mile in under 8 minutes. On the basis that I can’t do that on the flat and I was going uphill at the time, I opted to ignore him and just be relieved that I’d previously measured out the distance I needed to run on Gmap-pedometer! 😉

Leave a Reply

