Week three of Milton Keynes marathon training plan done

Yesterday my running buddy and I did a 9 mile run. We kept nearer to the 10 minute mile pace so found it easier this week. Really enjoy running with my buddy we have similar lives (second marriage older children followed by younger one) so chat all the way getting to know each other.

Todays run was another dreaded one with the dreaded word ‘fast’ making another appearance. I do dread these runs.

  • 1 mile jog that was fine but aware very early on, that the wind would be a factor today.
  • 2nd mile done with 8:25 pace
  • Jogged .5 mile
  • 2.5 to 3.5 pace of 8:48
  • Jogged .5 mile
  • 4 to 5 miles pace of 8:58
  • Jogged home

Pace not to bad after all, was aware of getting slower due to lack of food, 9 miles in legs still from yesterday and the wind.

Saw 2 other runners, one with grey/black marathon fleece, was glad I was wearing my blue one especially when he ignored me as he went past, the second was a 6ft 6 giant who strode by me when I was going ‘fast’ with very little effort. I hope he did not hear the word ‘show off’ that passed my slightly green lips.

Plan looks very scary for this next week!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Milton Keynes Marathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Week three of Milton Keynes marathon training plan done

  1. plustenner says:

    well done! 10 minute mile pace? I have heard of such a thing 😉 never managed it myself

  2. Sounds like training is going well. Great to have a run buddy for those long runs.

  3. abradypus says:

    Pah! to your striding giant. He probably collapsed as soon as he was out of sight.

  4. BRS says:

    Keep up the hard work. x

  5. bearrunner says:

    Thanks for the comment. It has been a wierd winter, warm than cold than rain… The negative has been that the last few Sundays have been COLD! Long runs have been on the treadmill

    Cheers

  6. jensruns2011 says:

    Sounds like your marathon training is going brilliantly, well done so far! 🙂

  7. Pingback: PMA and PRB « Fortnightflo's Blog

  8. fortnightflo says:

    Wow – that pace is awesome! Well done you – I reckon you are well on for a sub 4 hours marathonx.

  9. zoecakes says:

    Good speed work 🙂 Sounds like marathon training is going well.

  10. runtezza says:

    I have every confidence in you to send next week packing! Great work.

Leave a Reply

