Back to the gym

This morning big madam took little madam ice skating this gave me the opportunity to return to the gym, this in turn gave me the chance to do run two in my Milton Keynes Marathon training plan.

I realise that any run in the training plan that does not say slow or easy, I will struggle with. Later this week the plan stated a ‘steady’ run of 2 miles was required taking 18 minutes, this for me is not steady this is flat-out! I thought it would be a good idea to complete this on the treadmill as could set the pace and in theory plod away for 18 minutes. However this did not work quite that way, partly due to a raging sore throat and partly due to not having been to the gym in over a month! Missed the 3.2 km in 18 minutes but did manage it in 18.36 which is not too bad considering I slowed the pace right down to a walk a couple of times.

The gym was quite busy with all those New Year resolutioners but did manage to complete my workout, including another 15 minutes on the tradmill this time walking. (Was quite smug to see that the lady next to be was running at the same speed as I was walking, not that I’m competitive!)

Madams appeared unscathed except for a bruised bum for the smaller one whom I assured I was not going to kiss it better!

(For those that are keeping track. training runs in plan that have been completed are to be in red text, this is to help me see what needs to be done as the runs will not be run in order, they have to fit around family and work!)

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Milton Keynes Marathon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to the gym

  1. abradypus says:

    Fully justified smugness 🙂

  2. Training plans don’t really seem to accomodate life do they? Well done on day/run two!

  3. Pingback: Very sensible Flo… « Fortnightflo's Blog

Leave a Reply

