Wearyitus

This mornings run was not good. It was the type of run that if I had known it was going to be that bad I would have most certainly have stayed in bed. It was the type of run that was not good from the beginning, the type of run where you are meant to be moving like a gazelle but feel more like a thundering elephant, the type of run where your legs feel like lead, the type of run that you would cut short (if you hadn’t-like me-decided to combine the run with letter delivering) the type of run that makes you wonder why you bother, the type of run that makes you think you might not do it again, the type of run that leaves you analysing why it was so bad for the rest of the day.

Why was mine so bad? At a guess there were 2 contributing factors 1) Sundays 9 miles 2) Madam coming in to our room at 3 am complaining she was not feeling well and asking ‘can I sleep at the bottom of your bed?’ the answer to this question was brief and she was sent packing (the cat already had the bottom of the bed spot anyway!) After this I don’t think I slept which may have accounted for the weary run.

Mr Garmin Stats:-Distance – 5.81 Pace – 10.17 Calories burned 650

Mrs Runkeeper stats:- Distance – 5.76 miles Pace – 10.26 Calories burned 700

Obviously the Garmin was correct in all areas except calorie consumption!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wearyitus

  1. I feel your weariness and I’ve had two days rest from running. Funny my youngest has also been up in the night recently, I tell him he’s far to old and I’m far far too old to cope with sleepness nights!

    Good runs – I’d always trust the garmin over run keeper, If you want it to record more calories tell it you weigh more!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    I really struggle when I’m tired too, I think that was my problem at RPH. I do worry about what I’m going to do Marathon day – I might have to book a hotel…

  3. lazybetty says:

    Don’t be hard on yourself Shaz – a weary run is still better than no run!

  4. abradypus says:

    But the strange thing is that the next time you go out, you will feel like a gazelle again. Running is a capricious sport.

  5. I had a couple of days like that recently — my legs just felt like lead. I felt like I was practically running backwards. Bleh! But just keep lacing up the running shoes and it always gets better 🙂

  6. plustenner says:

    know the feeling! main thing is you ran 🙂 I would have stayed in bed!

Leave a Reply

