Women of a certain age should not run

…….when they need to go to the loo.

Yep I am that certain age! This morning despite visiting the small room in the house before setting out for my run, I felt I needed to go again from about 1.5 miles in. This was unfortunate as the nearest facilities were along way off. No fast food restaurants on the route only KFC and they don’t open early. I contemplated stopping in to Mrs F’s or Mrs C’s house, both of which I passed at about 4 and 5 miles, but decided the last thing in the world that they would want would be to answer the door to me with my legs crossed! I plodded on knowing where the next public loos would be, I was relieved to see them at about 6 miles and then gutted to find them locked. I was tempted to dive in to the bushes but there too many people about on a Saturday morning. I envisaged myself mid squat to be attacked by a dog out on his weekend walkies. This thought was enough to keep me going to the next conveniences at mile 7. When I entered these though was  greeted by a stench like no other, I popped my head in a cubicle and it was immediately evident why there was a bad aroma. No Shaz, plod on, I said. So on I went heading in to town. Finally at mile 8 I found toilets that were both clean and open – hurrah. I completed the next 3 miles more comfortably but very slowly.

Off to plan a clean, open WC running route for next week!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Women of a certain age should not run

  1. Thank you for this blog!! There’s nothing like being on an, er, uncomfortable long run to illustrate the awful lack of public bathrooms in the world.

  2. abradypus says:

    Lol. How’s the route planning going?

  3. plustenner says:

    know exactly what you mean! glad you managed to get to some toilets, well done – 11 miles !!

  4. Helsie says:

    Oh Shaz, this did make me laugh! Well done on a good long run.

  5. Bad Wabbit says:

    Invest in a she-wee. http://www.peak-nutrition.co.uk/brand/shewee/shewee_pink.htm?PARTNER=ggpnshewbrand&gclid=CN7XmNLZ8KsCFUEY4QodD1Oeew

    🙂

    Or just use a proverbial bush. You won’t get eaten by a St Bernard (if you’re quick!)

  6. shazruns says:

    Sorry could not possibly use one no matter how desperate I was!

  7. fortnightflo says:

    LOL I agree they are horrible things!

  8. jensruns2011 says:

    Hee hee, great post, can relate to it well! 🙂

  9. warriorwoman says:

    My mate attempted to use the she-wee on the moonwalk and we are often regaled with the hilarious, yet damp, disaster story.
    I think you did well to run on – it will have done wonders for those hard to reach muscles.

Leave a Reply

