Great day with bad news!

Today was our 10th wedding anniversary-this pretty much doubles the previous set record so as you can imagine was quite a landmark for us, one in need of celebrating. Both of us booked the day off work and had a word with him on high to fix some fantastic weather, and wow what a day. We set off to Hythe in Kent and had a train ride on a little train over Romney Marshes. On return we pottered around the town looking for some where to eat. We were just about to head back to the Nepalese restaurant when we turned and saw an eatery called ‘Wells’ and right away we knew this is where we had to eat. You see 10 years ago I became a ‘Wells’! Think it was fate. We sat in the garden me in the shade like a fat cat squinting and hubby in the shade, me drinking cider, hubby coke as was driving. Food was nice but not as on menu I ordered Coq au vin, this was billed as coming with a red wine sauce, sautéed potatoes and butternut squash, however came in sauce that was red but no wine, new potatoes and beans and carrots! Oh well it was cooked nicely!

It was during this trip out that Carla text me to say that ‘twitter’ was awash with tweets re the VLM and people receiving their yes/no packs, I instantly felt sick and the desire to rush home and check post. I lurched from panic that I might have a place, to hope that I had a place! Then that very lucky Carla text me to say that she would be running her first VLM in 2012! OMG!

Some of you might have heard of the child’s song ‘Alice the camel had ***** humps’ well I have renamed it to ‘Shaz the runner has two humps’ one hump still for not getting place in RPHM and the second? Well I’ll let you guess!!!

Off to check out Milton Keynes marathon!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Great day with bad news!

  1. Adele says:

    Happy anniversary! Sorry to hear you didn’t get in, It took me seven years to get my place in the London Marathon…really. Have you thought about Brighton? I really loved it earlier this year, and had a better experience than I did at London…worth a look 🙂

  2. Rachel B says:

    Happy Anniversary! Sorry no luck for VLM. Milton Keynes does look pretty….

  3. plustenner says:

    10 years! congratulations :o) so sorry you did not get a place, how about Edinburgh? Or Paris as someone suggested in a earlier blog

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Happy anniversary – I’m sorry I ruined your day by texting you that – hope hubby doesn’t hate me!! You’re welcome to stay over before MK – I’ll feed you up in the morning and be your chauffeur and everything xx

  5. nicky192 says:

    Sorry you didn’t get in Shaz and congratulations on your anniversary. I’m still nervously waiting for my pack. I’m going to look at Paris if I don’t get in.

  6. nicky192 says:

    Shaz – I’ve just booked for Milton Keynes. Paris is a bit of a long winded application process involving letters from your doctor and stuff and no doubt all the hotels will ramp up their prices so… see you at the start?

  7. zoecakes says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary – sounds like you had a lovely day out – and sorry about your lack of VLM place, hope you find somewhere else to run.

  8. runtezza says:

    Well done on a decade of wedded bliss to you and Mr Shaz. Sounds like a great romantic day out. Who needs the VLM anyway?!

Leave a Reply

