Home and washing

Oh the joy of coming home after a holiday! Washing, ironing, lawn mowing, washing, ironing, rabbit cleaning, washing, ironing, grocery shopping-yep oh joy!

M5/M4/M25 all very good to us on Saturday morning, we left at 9 a.m drove 350 miles and arrived home at 3, not bad for UK roads, lousy if in Canada!

Arrived home to 3 new bank cards in the post and 3 run related items. one was Runners World magazine, one RPHM hoodie (needed this on holiday, beach wear for shaz in the summer) and one item that I will cover in future blog to for now sshhhh on that one.

I was one of the only Janathon participants who entered the Royal Parks Half Marathon who did not get a place a seems. To add to my chances of getting a place I said yes to getting a hoodie, much like I do when entering VLM each year-hence a cupboard full of rain jackets and fleeces- but I think RPHM did not handle the situation well at all. It was not until I got my No you have not got a place email was I told my hoodie would not arrive till June, I assumed like VLM it would be instant but seems they wanted to make it environmentally friendly with no air miles (sorry carbon foot print) so would have to wait. Well June came and then July with no parcel and they only communicated with me when I called and left message thinking I had been missed. Eventually it arrived whilst I was away and my kind rabbit sitter picked it up. It is ‘well nice’ as we say here in Essex! Worth the wait? Possibly, but feel they need to sort this out for subsequent years.

Now I need a new challenge to get myself on track with my running. I combed the new RW magazine for inspiration but came up with little, think need something in November so will try and do some research. Did discover Milton Keynes marathon next April the Sunday after VLM. Now the question is should I enter MK and assume VLM rejects me again, should I wait till I get rejection letter then enter MK or thirdly should I be totally mad and enter and do both if get in VLM? Now thats sheer madness but I wonder!

Ran to gym Sunday and today took it easy but need to burn those Pasties! Hubby away all week so fitting in exercise with Madam will be a challenge will keep you posted but tomorrow till be an exercise free day.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home and washing

  1. fortnightflo says:

    Ooooooooh – what’s the 3rd thing??? So exciting! I am very keen on doing the MK marathon if I don’t get in to London, but don’t want to make the same mistake again so will wait until I’m been rejected from them and also on my club ballot before I enter – there were still spaces available for this years one until 6 weeks before so it all should be good.

  2. runtezza says:

    Welcome back — hope the hoody was worth waiting for. Smiled at your cupboard-full of consolatory kit. Go for the double!

  3. abradypus says:

    Rutland Water Marathon in early November. Portsmouth marathon in mid December. Comrades in June. Sorted.

  4. Hope you’ve recovered from the post holiday washin marathon!
    MK marathon does sound good…

Leave a Reply

