Madness!

First up agin this morning and in time to see this:-

Off to the beach we went travelling through the rain, watching the blue skies and hoping they were coming our way!. We waited in the car for the grey cloud to pass before decamping to the beach. Just as we got to  a nice spot on the beach it started to rain. Hubby had 2 flashes of brilliance when we got out of the car (thats the quota for this year) one was to take the old body board for us to sit on and the other was to grab the brolly ‘just in case’, when the heavens opened we were able to sit on something dry and cowered under the umbrella-three of us huddled together! The rain ceased, madam donned her wet suit and set out to the surf. Now I am a fair weather beach girl not one of those hardy Brits who sits on the beach in all weathers and here I was, 2 hoodies on, jumper on my knees and brolly shielding me from the wind, what a way to spend the morning. The heavens opened for the second time, we just sat and laughed it was sheer madness to be on the beach. Madam came out of the sea to get more wet with us! When it eased we played a few ball games to warm up, but when we spotted yet another black cloud on its way we fled to the car and drove through torrential rain to get back to the flat for lunch. Phew that was fun-not.

Late afternoon we took the train from St Erth to St Ives. What a beautiful 15 minute train journey it was, one direction you could see Godrevy Point the other way St Ives and all its beaches, the best and most scenic trip I’ve ever been on. Cheap too-no-one selling tickets at St Erth and no conductor came round we travelled both ways for free! Amazing.

We had dinner in St Ives overlooking the harbour we were lucky enough to get a front window seat, it was great to sit people watch and eat. Dessert was homemade fudge!

View at dinner

No run today, not sure there will be tomorrow either!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Madness!

  1. plustenner says:

    amazing photo of the rainbow!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Oh i LOVE rainbows that is an awesome picture. It sounds like you had a fun day and reminds me of when I was in Sydney and was determined to go to the beach even tho it was tipping down. I sat on the beach in a hoodie under a brolly eating my sandwich and the aussies all called me a nutty brit but I loved it!

Leave a Reply

