Up and Down

Did not run this morning hadn’t planned to fortunately, which was just as well, as a grizzly bear found its way in to the bed next to me and proceeded to keep me awake at various points, believe me if he is there tonight I will push him out on the balcony to sleep.

First port of call was Tintagel Castle the legendaary home of King Arthur. This is an energetic thing to do, firstly we walked all the way down the hill to the beach where we explored the caves, then it was back up to the top to peruse the ruins, then it was down again to climb up the other side to look at the entrance and latrines (!), then back down again before climbing back up the hill to the village. Am certain my legs are shorter than when I set out this morning.

Too many steps!

On working days hubby has a mistress who I refer to as Mrs Sat Nav, he does everything she says without hesitation, now I’m not jealous you understand but I refuse to bring her away with us. It was Shaz nav in charge today and I managed to find some very nice country lanes to drive up and down, you know the ones where the grass grows thick in the middle and if you meet another vehicle someone has to back up for half a mile. Whilst taking these lanes we came across a beach called Trebarwith Sands, where we ate our lunch. The lifeguard there was clearly bored (it was high tide) and we watched him run in his yellow waterproofs up the footpath (huge hill) and back, then strip off (I averted my eyes honest) down to his red speedos to then plunge in to the rough water and swim across the cove, I can only hazard a guess that he was slightly mad or was doing it for a dare/bet.

Next steep was Port Isaac made famous by Doc Martin. This is a very nice fishing cove, it was crammed with tourists, I wonder what the residents feel about now being famous, it must surely be a mixed blessing, bringing in money but lots of people also. The same could be said of Padstow due ti Rick Stein who is seems owns most of it.

Doc Martin not home!

This was our next stop so I could treat hubby to Ricks fish. Firstly we had a wander around the harbour which was nice and very very busy. Every type of fish that you can imagine was available to eat in different forms and recipes.

Dinner, authentic Stein fish.

Long day. Weather has again picked up at the end of it! Hope its not too bad tomorrow as have promised Madam time on the beach with another new board (last one broken already!)

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up and Down

  1. Your blog is making me desparate to get back to Cornwall. Hope you have a great day on the beach

  2. fortnightflo says:

    LOOOL Shaz Nav – I could’ve done with you today!

Leave a Reply

