What a day!

As promised the weather was good so off to Mawgam Porth it was. (No time for a run well thats my excuse that along with waking up with a headache)

Madam spent some time surfing (body boarding really no standing up stuff just yet) before dragging her father out to join her to leave me reading the paper, reading my book, laying down, sitting up (must buy a chair) and watching through binoculars. After lunch and some bat and ball with Madam in which we managed to hit dad a few times with the ball-not that we found that very funny you understand! Back to the waves madam went, they are the best yet she says, I followed to watch in ankle-deep water. I take my hat off to the RNLI lifeguards and the superb job they do in keeping the beach goers safe, they were very vigilant today keeping the boarders in between the red/yellow flags and the surfers in the black/white ones. Whilst I was down by the sea they tannoyed for 2 girls as their Mum could not find them. I chatted with the Mum for a while and loaned her my binoculars, it is very hard to spot anyone in the waves, she gave up and went back up the beach. It was a good 45 minutes later when she reappeared and still had not found the girls, she was understandably upset by now and myself and another Mum tried our best to keep her calm and reassure her. The lifeguards called out for them again and one even stripped off and went out in to the surf to look for them. Must admit I felt sick and was glad Madam came out the surf to see what was going on (nosey!). Then out of the haze stepped 2 teenagers clearly underwhelmed by the fuss that they had caused! Phew.

Queen of the surf

Warning to Mum and Dad it might be be advisable not to read the next paragraph! After a full day at the seaside we headed back to Hayle on arrival I discovered my purse was missing. ( oops) Back to Mawgam Porth we went. Before we left earlier we had sat and had an ice cream on a stone by the car I was sure I must have left it there. When we got back there was no purse but a note for me from a lady called Janet along with her mobile and landline number! Neither hubby or I are carrying our phones with us whilst out of the flat but before I could go in search of a phone box (do they still exist?) a lady came towards me and asked if I was looking for a purse as she had it! We exchanged hugs, I was so grateful, she had even cancelled my cards for me! What a lovely person-thank you Janet!

A very long while ago (34 years ish) I was a very forgetful child, (maybe I am still one) was forever loosing/leaving things and I remember my Mum telling me ‘you would fall down a cess pit and come up smelling of roses’! Guess thats still the case.

Hubby is going to fit an alarm to my purse so that when it is more than a few feet away from me an alarm will sound (might be tricky on those long runs) meanwhile I shall fit one on his wallet so that should he ever open it a fanfare plays!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a day!

  1. plustenner says:

    oh my goodness! what a day indeed 🙂 so glad your purse was ok! nice to know there are still some lovely people out there ..

  2. runtezza says:

    Well done that Janet. Cornish Baywatch sounds a bit stressful though — glad the teenagers turned up as well as the purse!

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Heeheee I am one fo those too. My most recent ourse was lost (stolen) after I left it on the roof of my car in a supermarket carpark!

Leave a Reply

