Rest Day

The rain woke me this morning which the weather man had predicted, thankfully the rest of his predictions were wrong, makes you wonder what he uses to give us these forecasts personally due to their inaccuracy I think it must be a crystal ball!

This morning we decided to visit Geevor Tin Mine and if anyone is planning on a trip to Cornwall, I would recommend it. There was various informative displays and buildings, very interesting and sad too that it had to close in 1991, the miners lockers have been left as they left them with their work clothes hanging in them all orange from the mine. We had to wear a hard hat the whole time which I was very grateful for when we went underground, the tunnel was extremely narrow and even as a shortish person I managed to bang my head several times. Needless to say I wont be changing my career path to take in mining any time soon, after emerging from the tunnel with a stiff neck, headache and squinting against the sun.

By the afternoon the rain clouds had cleared so we headed back to the flat so Madam could introduce her Dad to the joy of surfing, he has bought himself a wet suit to keep warm (No I am not tempted best not to inflict that sight on the other tourists, resemblance to Moby Dick would be uncanny!) I sat on a rock instead and read a book on Cornish Pastys that hubby had bought me.

I am now sitting in the sun on the balcony and hope to watch an incredible sunset like we did last night, I never seem sky so red.

Tomorrow I may run!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rest Day

  1. abradypus says:

    Going down a mine requires a level of bravery that I don’t possess, so I shall content myself with experiencing it through you.

  2. plustenner says:

    sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

