Cloudy day 2

This morning saw me head out for my 3 miles slightly later than yesterday and before Madam was awake, which is quite an achievement. I decided to run in to Hayle along the coastal path and then along the estuary where I took heed of the notices not to steal the fish from the ponds! Then I came to Phillack Hill Road which I am going to lobby the council to change its name to Phillack Precipice due to its very steep incline. Was pleased I conquered this mountain but must admit stopped at the top to catch my breath and when 2 cars had passed doubled over! From there it was through the church yard and cemetery (a first for me) to arrive back along the coastal path. Here I spotted a man looking over the cliff edge right by the sign that stated ‘Danger-cliff edge’ I bid him a cheery ‘Good morning’ and then added helpfully ‘don’t jump will you!’, instantly regretted this as plodded on my way as I am sure if he was tempted to jump my happy greeting and advise would really not have helped!

The weather was not the greatest today so the adults in the party out ruled madam who was keen to do more surfing and we set off to explore Godrevy Point 3 miles up the coast. Here we were lucky enough to see several seals, if you look closely at the photo you may be able to spot in the sea a seals head- take my word for it!

 

We have decided that this area is going to be great beach for crabbing and the plan for another day is that I run up there and Madam and hubby go in the car, we will meet up and go for breakfast in the cafe after exploring the rock pools, today however we had lunch here. Hubby had this :-

Lets hope his doctor does not read this!

From here we headed in to St Ives along it seems with the rest of the population of Cornwall which meant the first 3 car parks we came to were full, so we retreated to Carbis Bay where we parked at the station and walked in to St Ives, (no we did not meet a man with 7 wives, cats, sacks and kits).

 

Fingers crossed the sun makes an appearance tomorrow!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cloudy day 2

  1. runtezza says:

    Sun just biding its time so it can break records tomorrow. That cream tea lunch looks fantastic! Well done on all this holiday running — hope you keep a sure footing on those cliff-top paths.

  2. serunner says:

    Hey – tell your other half to go easy on those Cream Teas – we’re coming to St Ives next week, and there had better be some left!

  3. abradypus says:

    Well done on your precipice climb…and for saving your doubling over until after the cars had passed 😉

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Sorry I’ve not stopped by for ages! Am catching up now so this is the 1st of many comments. Loving the cream tea hoping there are not more pics like that as I’m hungry now. Love that you are back to running and blogging I MISSED you xx

Leave a Reply

