Happy Father’s Day!

Last Wednesday you may recall that I wrote a begging pleading letter to Lord Coe listing the reasons I desperately wanted an Olympic ticket, (not just because I think he is scrummy either!) one reason was that from a very young age I was brain washed in the way of the Olympics due to Dad competing in two Olympic Games. I grew up thinking this was the norm, never really mentioned it to anyone, I thought everyone knew someone who was an Olympian and everyone’s family was glued to the Games on T.V every 4 years shouting at the competitors and commentators alike. It was not until later in life that I realised what an amazing achievement this was. Am very proud of him. Several of you enquired what event he took part in so thought I would enclose a pic to help and make this blog on Father’s Day about him. Locked knee and always one foot on the ground means he was (still is at times) a race walker and raced in the 20k and 50k walk in Melbourne 1956 and Rome 1960 and believe me can walk faster than I can run!

I often wonder how DNA gets assigned out and what I would have liked to have inherited from Dad (given the choice) and what I was given instead…….

Would have liked..

  • His slight build
  • His long legs
  • His mathematical ability
  • A little part of his brain power
  • Ofcourse his athletic ability

Instead I was given

  • His curly hair
  • His freckles
  • His sweet tooth

Really think the DNA giver outers were having a laugh!

Dad has come to London to watch me in the 2 marathons and more recently for the Bupa 10k. Through out my training he has been on the end of the phone, to offer such words of wisdom as ‘its all in the mind’ and ‘if you get a blister pop it by passing a darning needle with wool through it’ I know ewwww! Also very good to point out that unlike Mrs Radcliffe I worked and had a family to look after and no trainer, so although my marathon time was nothing in comparison to hers (she was home and having dinner by the time I finished) it in itself was an achievement all the same. Thanks Dad!

So to all you Dad’s out there and in to mine in particular ‘Happy Father’s Day’.

Todays Totals

  • Drove 130 mile round trip for fish ‘n’ chips
  • Walked 4 miles round trip for fish ‘n’ chips
  • Ran 6 miles when got home turns out chips are good running fuel
  • Calories burned 640 (not sure this will be enough)
  • 1 Mint Magnum eaten-delicious

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy Father’s Day!

  1. runtezza says:

    Lovely post, and great picture. You’ve clearly inherited the Olympian genes — just too bad that baking and blogging are not official Olympic sports (yet!) .

    Now I want to know what kind of fish and chips are worth that kind of journey.

    • shazruns says:

      Go to Aldeburgh on Suffolk coast and you will find out! The queue we have witnessed there a couple of times gave us a clue they were good and they were amazing!

  2. maggiee says:

    I drove an 80 mile round trip for fish and chips today, so you beat me!!! 🙂 A really lovely post

  3. zoecakes says:

    That’s so exciting that your Dad is an Olympian and if you’ve run two London marathons you must have inherited some of his athletic ability! 😉

  4. plustenner says:

    oh my goodness! I am now totally star struck.. I have met an Olympian!!! and all the more amazing that he is still competing 🙂 hey, you not too shabby an athlete yourself!!

  5. carahendry says:

    Well impressed. My dad has never been an Olympian, but to me, he is. That is a lovely post! But now I want fish n chips! Get that ironing done! 🙂

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Fab story and I wish I had got chance to chat to him in the Bupa 10k – think he may have gone a way with teh impression I was an essex fishwife as I was the last to finish and (think) I was moaning in colourful language about someone trying to give me a leaflet about running another race. Will he be coming down to any future races – in fact are you actually signed up for any races?????

  7. sazzleflips juneathon says:

    wow! Hardcore fish and chip hunt! great post!

  8. jensruns2011 says:

    Wow, how amazing! Lovely post 🙂

  9. henniemavis says:

    What a wonderful post, I love the photo of your Dad. People looked so distinguished back then, even running a race! Bravo on the 6 miles — shall we all eat more chips then? I say, YES!

  10. Great post…..I got the big knockers and poor circulation from my mums side of the family….not great athletic material you understand!

  11. Wonderful post – really enjoyed reading it and what a wonderful way to say Happy fathers day – I do hope you get some tickets – I didnt get any either! Migh try again on the 24th?

  12. Pingback: shazruns

Leave a Reply

