If you go down in the woods today-dont get lost!

Trying to dispel my Juneathon boredom blues I decided to go Hylands Park to run whilst madam was there this evening for cubs. I had a map and was going to run the perimeter of the park which is approximately 4 miles. Many of you will know Hylands as the venue of the yearly V festival, this is  Hylands House a popular place to hold your wedding and is not where you get to stay whilst at the festival!

I set off and was really enjoying the change of scenery then I saw these sheep whom I laughed at as they all stopped to look at me as I took this pic, their expression was one of distinct dislike, not that I blame them, they were naked, but they did look good naked Gok!

On I went enjoying the run and the woods far more picturesque than the usual housing estate I run around.

 

 

 

I came to this bridge when clearly a decision needed to be made (not which one the troll was hiding under) which would be safest to cross.

Obviously I took the one on the right! On I continued until I came to some more sheep, then I realised these were the same sheep I had seen early and I was lost. Panic took hold as I needed to collect Madam in 25 minutes would I ever get out? In the end found my way to a clearing and recognised the children’s play area. Phew. I wasn’t wearing a heart rate monitor which was just as well or I’d have short circuited it I’m sure.

With still more time to run I went up to the gardens so I could take more pics

Then I went on to the Scout Garden built after the Jamboree held here a couple of years ago.

Entrance to The World Garden

Mole at the bottom of Totem Pole

Beaver carving

Totals Ran for an hour so assuming that to be 6 miles Mr Garmin did not like the woods. Gym one hour this morning.

Off to compose letter to Hylands House telling them to improve their signage in the woods!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If you go down in the woods today-dont get lost!

  1. Jogalog says:

    Looks like a great location for a run – You were also lucky it wasn’t raining!

  2. Lovely carvings. Shows there are so many places araound London I’ve yet to explore.
    Bloomin garmins – mine didn’t like the rain today!

  3. runorgocrazy says:

    Looks like a lovely place to visit, loving the mole!

  4. plustenner says:

    wow! it sure has changed since I was there last 🙂

  5. zoecakes says:

    Ah, the adventure of running in a strange place! Glad you found your way out of the woods in the end!

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Oooh looks like a great place to run, I really MUST get off my arse one Saturday and drive down to meet you.

  7. jensruns2011 says:

    Lovely pics, looks like a nice place for a run 🙂

  8. henniemavis says:

    Lovely to run in a new place — change of scenery & sense of adventure, even if one gets lost for just a few moments 🙂 I like the mole at the bottom of the totem! 6 mi. is quite impressive.

Leave a Reply

