A Canoodle of Canoeists

Today I am surprised the family did not put my trainers, Garmin and iPod on and point me out the door-grumpy shaz (hormones?!) Maybe I beat them to it as I knew I needed to get out for a long run and a good one to make up for the run on Thursday which was AWFUL. Set out along the River my favourite route for a long run, shady and picturesque perfect for a long one. Now I would like to add canoeists fo Fairweathers rant, came across a group today (could not think what the collective noun would be, but thought Canoodle sounded good) getting out of the River and transporting their vessels from one side of the lock to the other,  (in fact a carrying canoodle of canoeists) in doing so they straddled the path. I could have passed by without missing a beat, by elegantly and gracefully leaping over the canoe -yeah right-but came to a halt and walked past braving the surrounding nettles. Did they make any attempt to move  NO, did they apologise for being in the way NO, did they greet the landlubber NO, did this happen more than once YES. Bah to canoeists. Did contemplate suggesting they activate the lock then would not need to me in my way and spent sometime visualising the effect of this on their canoes!! Nasty Shaz.

Enjoyed the rest of the run spotting beautiful blue dragonflies, brown speckled butterflies and Mum Mallard with 5 chicks.

10 miles in not a great pace but today was about doing it not doing it quickly fortunately! Grumpiness not all gone yet though but am sure some chocolate will help with that!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Canoodle of Canoeists

  1. Corina says:

    Chocolate always helps!

  2. Canoeists should have canoodled together when they saw cantankerous you cantering toward them

  3. Death to Jiilean Michaels and anyone holding/paddling a canoe then? Shake a ‘flake’ at them next time, and show them you mean business!

  4. carahendry says:

    I think you and I are living on parallel universes- I had to stop for canoeists today, and strangely, a group of bungee jumpers. Enjoy your chocolate- I’ve just had a 35g green and blacks milk chocolate bar 🙂

  5. plustenner says:

    10 miles!! well done 🙂
    inconsiderate canoodle of canoeists !!!

  6. maggiee says:

    You should have compellingly coerced that cocky canoodle of canoeists back in their canoes! 🙂

  7. abradypus says:

    Evil canoeists. Don’t they know it’s Juneathon?

  8. swimcyclerun says:

    I like to think I’m an easygoing kinda guy and I’m always thinking about others… but when I come across people like your canoeists, not thinking of others, I get majorly P’d off! Thankfully the wildlife made up for it for you

  9. runtezza says:

    Too busy ka-yakking to one another to notice you?

  10. Ha ha!, that one had to be ‘ dug out’…

  11. lazybetty says:

    10 miles – awesome. i need some shaz inspiration to get up at dawn tomorrow – how do you do it?

  12. grrr I’ll add them to the list along with large people at bus stops who block the whole pavement!
    Well done on 10 good miles.

Leave a Reply

