Long day-so Parsnip and Maple Syrup Cake Recipe included

Working in Southampton today (2.5 hour drive-but not on Friday evenings!) so I knew todays run would have to be carefully planned. Last night I suggested I rise at 4.30 a.m (fattipuff did it) do a quick mile but hubby vetoed this. Up at 4:45 (15 minutes makes a huge difference obviously) and set off to battle the M25, arrived at destination at 7:35 at least an hour early! Spent the day sat on a chair made for a 6 year olds bottom not my wide posterior, not very comfortable. When it came to lunch time my fruit salad purchased last night was effervescing when I commented that I was sure it should not be like that or that it should not have the odour of cheese one of the course attenders said “I would not touch anything like that at the moment with e-coli” (as he was eating a WHOLE LARGE packet of REVELS it did cross my mind to tell him that blocked arteries would get him first but I do need this job so kept zipped) the fruit was relegated to the bin very quickly. Got away fairly early and stopped at the services for something to eat. trying to find something healthy was like looking for a needle in a haystack, I even walked over to the southbound side, the nearest I came was fruit salad and somehow that did not appeal any more. Opted for cheese and ham panini lovely but not healthy. As I sat and chomped, I pondered why services dont serve anything healthy and came to the conclusion that they want us all to have figures like lorry drivers. (Dragons Den-healthy motorway services franchise-the seed is there) Horrendous journey home took 4 hours.

In-changed-garmin-out-1 mile in 9.01-in-cup of tea-blog reading-blogging-bed.

Am aware this blog was going to be a struggle so here is the promised recipe

Parsnip and Maple Syrup Cake

Ingredients

175g 6oz butter

250g 9oz demerara sugar

100ml 3.5 floz maple syrup

3 large eggs

250g 9oz self raising flour

2 tsp baking powder

2tsp mixed spice

250g 9 oz parsnip peeled & grated

1 eating apple peeled, cored and grated

20z pecans

Zest and juice one orange (I leave this out cake very moist as it is)

Icing

250g mascarpone cheese

3-4tbsp maple syrup

What to do

Oven 180c/160 fan/ gas 4

Grease and line 2 sandwich tins

Melt butter, sugar and maple syrup over low heat, cool

Whisk eggs in to this stir in flour, baking powder and mixed spice.

Add parsnip, apple, nuts, zest and juice

Divide between tins

Bake 25-30 mins till tops springs back when touched

Cool then turn cake out

Just before serving mix icing ingredients spread in on top of one cake and place other on top, dust with icing sugar

Give it ago it is nicer than it may sound very moist let me know what you think

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Long day-so Parsnip and Maple Syrup Cake Recipe included

  1. runorgocrazy says:

    Fab I’m going to give that a go. Sounds yummy.
    4 hours! Hope you get a good nights sleep.

  2. Thank you for the recipe!

  3. Maggiee says:

    Thanks for recipe and I agree about service stations, you can’t even buy a normal size bag of crisps!! Very annoying!

  4. plustenner says:

    thanks for the recipe! nightmare trip home 😦

  5. jensruns2011 says:

    Sounds like a very long day, well done for still heading out for a run. Thanks for the recipe, look forward to trying it 🙂

  6. What a day – well done for that mile!
    Thanks for the recipe – going to try it this afternoon.

  7. fortnightflo says:

    Like I said – am more than happy for you to cook it and ship it to me. It’s y birthday at the end of July….
    So true about healthy food at services – I only stop at ones with and M & S now so I don’t get tempted.

  8. Corina says:

    This looks yummy. I love the way vegetables make cakes really moist. I also have the same problem getting healthy food when travelling. I often end up getting a pasta salad.

  9. Robyn says:

    yeah to cake recipe – boo to long drive. That commute sounds utterly hellish!

Leave a Reply

