Bike ride, cake and run

Fully expected to be stiff and sore after yesterdays trip to the gym but no all ok, does this mean I did not workout hard enough, I wonder?!

This morning madam and I rode the bikes in to town so I could get a haircut, this was no speedy trip due to madams little legs, but she did manage to make it up and over the humpback bridge on the way there and the way back and this is a first for her.      Total=4miles

My friend was having a Strawberry Tea today as a fund-raiser for a cancer charity and I made this cake for it

Parsnip and Maple Syrup cake

 Lots of lovely cakes there that I managed to avoid as I was on tea duty, phew.

Dropped madam at 4.45 at a friend’s house for yet another sleep over, dashed home and headed out along the river for a 6 mile run. Chose this route as mainly in the shade and it was HOT. Saw lots of wildlife

  • 5 rabbits
  • 1 heron
  • 1 black cat (good omen)
  • 5 horses (1 new foal ahhhh)
  • 1 squirrel
  • 1 cyclist-listed as wildlife due his non acknowledgement of me even though I moved so he could pass-Bah

No other runners but did pass a walker and was very conscious of VPL and whats more of my bum eating said VPL oops !!!!

Total=6 miles

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bike ride, cake and run

  1. runorgocrazy says:

    Parsnip and maple syrup cake?

  2. maggiee says:

    cake looks nice… though sounds weird… but I love carrot cake and that seemed strange to me once upon a time… so I’m going with it… horrid wildlife man who didn’t acknowledge you… bah humbug… walker never looked back… she didn’t!

  3. Cake sounds exotic – will have to try that one sometime! Well done the exercise – I have really failed today!

  4. sooozie says:

    No, does not mean you didn’t workout hard enough, it means you are getting fitter(or that the acheyness will set in tomorrow)! The cake looks lovely.

  5. plustenner says:

    cake sounds really amazing, and having parsnip in can easily qualify as one of your 5-a-day LOL
    recipe please if you could??

  6. abradypus says:

    I’ll take your collection of wildlife over mine anyday. All I managed was one dead squirrel (ugh). Not sure about the cake, though. Parsnip’s not the first cake flavour I think of.

  7. I saw the cake photo, then the bullet point list and my brain put the two together and thought it was a recipe. As I read the “ingredients” I was outraged – rabbits, heron, black cat, horses, 1 squirrel. Then remembered I’ve been writing about taxidermy all day and may have stuffed animals on the brain. Parsnip cake sounds delicious though.

  8. I second the request for a recipe. Parsnip and maple works lovely as a roast and I bet it makes a lovely moist cake. Mmmmmmm, moist cake…

  9. jensruns2011 says:

    That cake looks lovely…I’m intrigued as to what a parsnip and maple syrup cake would taste like…may have to try the recipe! 🙂

  10. Bit of a triathlon then? Think you are going to have to share the cake recipe.

  11. Fortnightflo says:

    Wow 10 miles on day 2 – you’re going for it aren’t you! Cake looks wonderful, however i’m a hopeless cook so rather than the recipe can you just send me the cake please? Thanks v much. I’ll pay the postage…

  12. That cake looks delicious. Laughed at laurajonesruns about the ingredients……I don’t stock any of those!!!

    Well done on the mileage xx

  13. runtezza says:

    Excellent work rate! Plus a cake — formidable performance.

  14. henniemavis says:

    Mmm, lovely cake… will run for cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

