Here we go again!

Yesterday I had an induction at the local gym. I have only been in a gym once before and have never been a member of one so this is new territory for me. The inductor was very nice and put a workout together for me. He had obviously been on a ‘how to be tactful course’ and instead of saying “my god you have huge hips/thighs/bum so we will target this area” (and I thought the huge Bupa 10k t-shirt would hide this problem area) he said things like “ladies usually want to target their thighs which is why I have included this machine”. Bless him. I struggled on one machine have no idea what it is called now but is a bit like a cross trainer and I could just not get it right at one point I was going backwards on it, now that’s what I call talent!

Madam is away on a sleep over and I had the opportunity to sleep in but of course managed to wake at 5.30 a.m so got up just after 6 and ran to the gym which is 2 miles away. I did the workout which lasted just over an hour. It did not go too bad. This is what I learnt after my first gym session

  • Take a cloth-you will sweat
  • Wear a smaller t-shirt-you will sweat
  • You need more kit-you will sweat
  • Never take money as you come out starving and there is a chocolate machine by the exit
  • Dont look to the right when on the treadmill as this will cause you to almost fall off and will scare fellow treadmillers! (Did this twice)
  • Dont put you hands on the machine where it will read your heart rate as will always say yours is too fast!

After the gym ran the 2 miles home so that is day one of Juneathon well and truly DONE!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Here we go again!

  1. Robyn says:

    Well done! I am ashamed that I am complaining of a sore thigh…and it is only Day 1 of Juneathon!

  2. Getting a bit hardcore… running to the gym, working out and then running home again! Hope you enjoy the gym, its so nice to have a bit of variety.

  3. abradypus says:

    Extremely hardcore. Does watching Run Fatboy Run count as running?

  4. runtezza says:

    I counted four miles there, plus god knows what in the gym, let alone Bupa 10K muscle memories. Fearsome stuff!

  5. lazybetty says:

    gym and run same day… shouldn’t you be pacing yourself?!

  6. Jogalog says:

    Well done! That’s a great start.

  7. plustenner says:

    which huge hips/thighs/bum?? you are skinny!! 🙂
    we done – gym and a run..

  8. Carl says:

    Eek! What’s with all the early-risers today? I’ve only tried running in the morning twice:

    The first time was terrible. Fail.

    The second time the only thing I could hear were my feet slapping on the ground and that has put me off! Far too quiet!

  9. Steve says:

    Good treadmill advice – the looking to the side thing is so true and almost always causes an embarrassing stumble. Welcome back and good luck!

  10. jensruns2011 says:

    Impressive stuff – a 4 mile run and 1 hr gym session, crikey! Great start to Juneathon! 🙂

  11. Maggiee says:

    Wow! An impressive day one… I have juneathon guilt at my poor attempt and will intend to do better tomorrow! Good job on the gym 🙂

  12. swimcyclerun says:

    The gym sounds a scary and sweaty place, I’m glad I don’t go! Although a chocolate machine may just tempt me. Good start to Juneathon 🙂

  13. Gone Bananas says:

    Well done! I laughed out loud at the don’t look to the left while on the treadmill or you will fall off! We are kindred in that! Oh and I never put my hands on the heart rate thing either as I become paranoid! *Grin* Sounds like you’re doing fab to me! x

Leave a Reply

