I ran past Paula Radcliffe!

Today was the day of, much waited for, much trained for, much blogged about Bupa 10k.

I met up with fellow bloggers fortnightflo, abradypus, oldbagrunning, runorgocrazy and fairweatherrunner and after intake of caffeine/water/bananas/malt loaf we set off to Green Park and then on to the start. Giselle (runorgocrazy) gave up her elite red start to join me in blue and I was very grateful for her company prior to the start and for the first 3km where she helped me set a sub 9 min mile pace. Thanks Giselle. The crowd at times were a little quiet on the way out (not for long!) but on the way back along the never-ending (feeling of deja vu from London marathons) embankment they were extremely NOISY. I was feeling not too bad until the last 2k and my pace started dropping and no matter how hard I tried I could not pick up any speed, it was as though some was pulling me backwards as I was striving to go forwards! As we headed up to Nelson’s column the heat really hit me (BBC weather forecast wrong yet again!) and down The Mall the tank was well and truly empty (no tiger) and I was glad to get to the finish line but disappointed that I did not get near my target finish time.

Met up with the girls at the end and swapped race tails before heading off for a drink with my Dad who was down to watch the race walk taking place at 4pm another practise for London 2012. It was nice to spend time with just him, something rare these days.

Paula is quoted in the Daily Mail as saying her run today was a disaster, well least I dont feel mine was that bad after all I did finish! Trying to put things in a more positive slant, yes I did not get the time I wanted but that is what the next 10 k is for, right? As this is my first timed 10k it is a PB and as its not a very fast one should be easy to beat, hopefully. Every cloud. Really enjoyed seeing/meeting everyone and look forward to Juneathon!

Something for my running CV ‘I ran past Paula Radcliffe’-ok so she was going the other direction heading home leaving me to my next 8 k, but I still ran past her!

(Off to find a chipped 10k at the end of June, I wont let it beat me!)

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I ran past Paula Radcliffe!

  1. Diana says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! Sounds like you were not happy with your time, but you went the distance….sore knees and all!!!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Ooo I just eneterd the Asics british 10k on the 10th July – are you away for that? I really enjoyed today, bless your Dad for coming along! Am up for joining you at the end of June if you find one – I’ll pin your number on this time!

  3. runtezza says:

    Paula who? Well done you |& great you’ve got some headroom for future PBs.

  4. Hels says:

    The heat was bloody awful! Similar feeling to you – I was pleased to get to the finishing line, but also missed my target time. Nonetheless, well done – next time!

    Carla – did you enter the British 10k? Have read some truely awful reviews of it!

  5. plustenner says:

    Was lovely to meet you too! and like you I am a bit disappointed with my time 😦 things can only get better!!

  6. jensruns2011 says:

    Well done on your 10K, sounds like it was toughie at times – the heat can make running a real nightmare. Sounds like you had a great day though and fab post! 🙂

  7. maggiee says:

    Well done, I think running in the heat makes things horrendous and definitely makes a difference to the time it takes. You did great… and an enjoyable read too… 🙂

  8. Corina says:

    Well done! I did this race last year and at one point I was thinking of doing it again. It’s a great course and atmosphere.

  9. Jogalog says:

    Well done! I did this last year and it was a great course and really well organised. I was thinking of doing it again but never got round to it. I’d love to have seen Paula!

  10. runorgocrazy says:

    You did a fab pb and I loved the way you’ve described the pacesetting without mentioning my huge fading!!

  11. Gone Bananas says:

    WTG Congratulations on your acheivement that’s fantastic! x

Leave a Reply

