Don’t panic, don’t panic!

The Bupa pack arrived this week, I have read and absorbed the booklet and now am terrified. Here’s why:-

  • Paula Radcliffe is running too-OMG
  • Apparently this is the ‘top 10k race in the running calendar’
  • ‘The course is admirably flat and straight in most parts’ (surely this should be read all parts)
  • The map of the course on middle pages looks sooooo long, think I will only look at the map on the following pages this looks manageable
  • There is all kind of training advice dare not read this and feel I may throw up with the butterflies that are starting in my tummy.
  • Must put the pack somewhere safe so as not to lose any of the contents before the big day, this is very scary as am great at misplacing things finding them, then misplacing them then finding them etc., 2 weeks of that will drive me mad.

 

None of this was helped as when I expressed my concerns to hubby that this was a ‘proper race’ he thought to reassure me with the words ‘you will need to be prepared to be one of the last to finish’-Thanks darling that really helped!

‘Er sunning in herself in Crete has suggested that bloggers running the Bupa10k might want to get together before the race for a drink and a chat. If anyone is interested in this or has a better idea on what to do on the day please email fortnightflo or me. Ideas of a coffee shop near the start that sells energy drinks and bars would be helpful too!

Was meant to run yesterday right after work but could just not do it instead flopped down in front of a jacket with beans and watched neighbours! This meant rising early this morning when I wished I had run yesterday. Jogged one mile, ran 3 as fast as I could and managed an average pace of 8:56 then jogged home, nice morning.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Don’t panic, don’t panic!

  1. abradypus says:

    If you’re running those paces, there is no way you’ll be at the back. You’ve probably even got a red start 😉

  2. runtezza says:

    Look out Paula!

  3. oldbagrunning says:

    Tell me about it
    Phil reckons it is a fast and flat course and he is hoping to improve on his 29:01 he ran in Bristol ! He said there is a bit of an incline around mile 3 but that is about it – not sure whether his ‘bit of an incline’ = a hill for us mere mortals 🙂
    Shaz, you run 2 minutes quicker a mile than I do, there is absolutely no way you will be towards the back, you will be in the middle group, no doubt about it!
    relax, you have done all the training, now just take it easy this week, fill up the tank and you will whizz around on Monday

  4. Giselle says:

    The little I’ve managed to read lately gives the impression you’ll be fine! You go girl!

  5. Hels says:

    What start are you in? You’re going to be NO WHERE near the back, hubby is talking rubbish! You’ll be in the top half for sure.

    • shazruns says:

      I realise I wont be at the back but was amazed by hubbys faith (or lack of it) in me! After 10 years of marital bliss know I should ignore most of what he says so will apply that to this instance also!

Leave a Reply

