Confession time

I have not run since Friday! Yep that’s right and that means no 13 mile run over the weekend as planned, that is the 2nd week in a row I have not managed it, so much for a weekly half marathon! I could offer all kind of excuses:-too busy, too tired, knee hurt, too hot, football on TV, dog ate trainers etc but to be honest I just did not want to, to run 13 miles when you dont want to run 1 would have been madness even for me. I could  not even face running on Monday.

Today however I knew I had to get out there. This week I am due to repeat week 4 of the training plan to bring me in line with the Bupa 10k run and the plan calls for 5 miles steady again, with pace of 9:11, I did not want to pace watch (did not want to run either) so set out to do a steady run at a pace I felt comfortable with. I set out early, how early? Early enough to see the street lights switch off and then sun awaken, oh and to see a club goer stagger home in not such a straight line (a Monday night, tut tut).

Managed the 5 miles in 47:02 with average pace of 9:25 which is not far off target pace which amazed me. Morning was beautiful and noticed the honeysuckle is coming out and smelt delicious.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Confession time

  1. I am so impressed by your early starts! Well done for getting back out there when you least felt like it.

  2. abradypus says:

    The awakening sun. What a fabulous image. It’s not, you understand, something I will *ever* see, but it’s great to hear tell of such wonders. Great pace too!

  3. runtezza says:

    Well done — honeysuckle surely one of the great smells of summer running (loads of it down the towpath here).

  4. Maggiee says:

    I didn’t realise they even switched street lights on in the summer… I’m in bed before they go on and awake after they switch off, clearly!

  5. Hels says:

    Good on you though for getting back out there and doing it in a good time! It seems a few of us are struggling a bit with Bupa 10k training at the moment, myself included. I have no doubt that you however will be super speedy and we will all be eating your dust!

Leave a Reply

