Steady

I realised tonight that I could postpone the ‘steady‘ run called for in my Bupa 10k training no longer, I had hoped to delay it till tomorrow morning, but hubby foiled that plan as he has to go to work early. After letting my pasta dinner settle I set out to try to do what I thought was the impossible to run 5 miles with a pace of 9:11.

Oh I dragged my feet, moaning all the time that I did not want to go out, then I stopped by the rabbits fed and watered them, then sorted the recycling until no longer could I delay it. I set out all the time keeping an eye on Mr Garmin and my pace. I planned on doing 2.5 miles out and 2.5 miles back. Out was a downhill route so  knew the way back would be tougher. Was amazed to run the out route with an average pace of 9 minute miles and stopped to catch my breath for a few minutes.(I promise not to do this during the actual race as might cause a major pile up). Then I headed home and the pace was not bad until I hit the up hill section and then really slowed the last mile, but was determined that after such a good start that I would not drop below the target pace. Am pleased and surprised to report that I DID IT, I ran 5 miles in 45.55 with an average pace of 9:11.

My lungs did not explode, I do not need an ambulance but do feel a trifle sick and the knee throbs but it was so worth it. Whoop whoop!!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Steady

  1. maggie says:

    Woop Woop!!! Go girl! That is FANTASTIC!!! Well done… 🙂

  2. Whoop whoop indeed! That’s absolutely bloody marvellous!

  3. abradypus says:

    Whoop whoop! Brilliant stuff.

  4. oldbagrunning says:

    excellent !!! well done you 🙂
    thanks so much for the article, it arrived today x

  5. You sound rightly proud of yourself. And so you should be 🙂

  6. Hels says:

    Marvellous running! You go girl!

  7. Carla says:

    Woweeeeeeee! You’re doing fabulous… Sub 55 10k in the bag!

  8. Well done! That is both awesome and enviable in equal measures. I love the idea of a “comfortable but purposeful pace” from your last post. So long as my purpose was to run slowly, I’d have no problem 😉

Leave a Reply

