Easter Sunday

The original plan was to go to Brighton for breakfast today, however after a late night that did no happen instead we headed north to Suffolk where we parked the car at Thorpness and walked to Aldeburgh for lunch. The weather was beautiful and we had lunch outside over the looking the sea, can life get any better than this? Madam coped well with the 4 mile round trip walk considering she is suffering badly with hay fever.
 
 
Madam and the glistening sea
 
 We headed back to Thorpness where Madam thought she might like to go out on a rowing boat. When we looked at the prices and discovered it was going to cost £10.50 for half an hour (for one adult, one child) we decided this was not a good idea and tried to convince her of this by pointing out that the lake had crocodiles in it!
 

When I win the lottery or find a rich husband (I know I’m married already, but am always looking for a richer replacement!) I am going to rent the House in the Clouds which is in the picture below, it is a converted water tower and now for a small fortune you can stay in it, the view from the top must be incredible.

On returning home I had a dilemma, to run tonight or get up early on the last day of my holiday to do 13 miles prior to hubby going out. Opted for running today and sleeping tomorrow. Set out but soon had to return home as forgot my drink! Todays aim was ro run 13 miles quicker than last week. I wanted to keep an eye on my pace and keep it at a steady rate for the whole run. Settled in to a comfortable 9.50 pace and managed to sustain this for the first 9 miles then it dropped to 9.54 but the wheels came off at about 11 miles and slowed until I finished with average pace of 10 min miles. This has taken 7 minutes off last weeks run so am pleased with that, next week am hoping the last 4 miles are not quite as tough.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easter Sunday

  1. abradypus says:

    I like the cloud house, though don’t know if I’d like to live that close to a crocodile-infested lake. After renting the cloud house, would you mind indulging a fantasy of mine and renting this lighthouse (http://www.lighthouseholidays.co.uk/pages/tour01.html)? Impressive run too btw.

  2. oldbagrunning says:

    wow! well done on your run, you are very dedicated, after such a lovely day I would have vegged out 🙂

  3. ewoodeson says:

    I went there last summer. It’s awesome – did you climb up the windmill?
    Love the look of the new trainers too by the way!

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Oh wow that place looks amazing – as does the lighthouse…maybe we ould club together and stay there for a night and go for some runs or something?!?!? Fab run HARDCORE!

Leave a Reply

