I saw the sun come up this morning….

…. it was an amazing sunrise, misty sky over the rape seed fields, the red sun rising on the horizon beyond this, truly breath-taking, well worth the early rise to witness this.

As I was heading out prior to breakfast grabbed half an energy bar before heading out the door placing the other half in my pocket. It was an amazing morning and realised wearing high vis jacket is normally a great idea, but maybe not when going through fields with bright yellow flowers! High vis jacket became camouflage jacket very quickly. Stopped at 4 miles for the other half of the energy bar. This is the view I took in whilst I had breakfast.

(I did not take this picture though)

Wildlife I saw:-

  • 2 rabbits (well saw their tails)
  • 1 pheasant
  • 2 partridges
  • 4/5 coots/moorhens
  • 3 horses who headed towards me as though they thought I was going to feed them
  • One swan-well it was well on its way from cygnet to swan, still a little bit of ugly duckling remained

Got in just after 8 in time to jump in bath and to be out in time to watch the marathon. Lazy day planned.

13 miles completed, not overly thrilled with the time but the averageĀ pace was 10.17, not sure how I can be siaappointed with one and pleased with the other though! The aim is to do 13 miles every weekend and to improve that time.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I saw the sun come up this morning….

  1. fortnightflo says:

    13 miles every weekend???? You almost make getting up early sound worth while…I love sunrise and sunsets. Enjoy your day x

  2. jensruns2011 says:

    13 miles! Wow, well done! Sounds like it was a great day for it. 13 miles every weekend is very hardcore, good luck!

  3. abradypus says:

    lol. A day that starts with a 13 mile run is, by definition, not a lazy day. Sounds like a glorious run though.

  4. runtezza says:

    Well done — early morning running rocks! Great plan to clock a regular long run as a way to monitor progress but, mainly, enjoy it.

  5. lazybetty says:

    what time did you get up to see the sunrise? on a weekend? Shaz you are astonishing and inspirational!

  6. Pingback: the ethics of spin class « dadoorunrun

Leave a Reply

