An unsuccessful run

This mornings run according to the training plan was a slow 4 mile. But things don’t always go to plan do they? Set out at 5.30 am managed 1.5 miles then had to stop and return home as needed the toilet, (will spare you the details) not pleased that I got up early on a day off all for a measly 1.5 miles! As I was dressed for exercise decided to do my exercise DVD (took off high vis jacket first!), this is a belly fat blast workout. The presenter is the size of my upper thigh and wears itsy bitsy shorts that madam at age 9 would fit in to. None of this I hold against her you understand as she repeatedly tells me to inhale and exhale. While I mutter back at her that I am not in a childbirth class and will never be again, so please stop telling me how to breathe. The DVD has 6 10 minute workouts which is great, the first however I could not do as it entailed doing the plank while raising one knee. I couldn’t do it not due to lack of coordination but due to my right knee shouting nooooooooooo at me so skipped to next 10 minute section which was a Pilates one. Managed 30 minutes and will try to do this more I think.

All day have been arguing with my inner runner saying that I need to go out this evening to do the 4 mile run but the lazy inner me is saying the warm wind free front room is a better option. Only time will tell, but feel at the moment the latter will win. Don’t suppose missing this run will affect my Bupa run, but may do the 4 miles tomorrow, that is MAY

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An unsuccessful run

  1. abradypus says:

    I would obviously listen to the lazy inner me, but I suspect you are made of sterner stuff…

  2. oldbagrunning says:

    who ever invented the plank? some medieval torturer no doubt 🙂

  3. fortnightflo says:

    LOL – it’s hard getting the discipline together to follow plans again isn’t it? Plenty of days to make it up the rest of the week.

  4. Inhale! Exhale! I can’t quite get over the 5.30 am start time – somehow I don’t think there can exist a Lazy Inner You. Hope the next run brings more success for you – sometimes you just have to write off a run and enjoy the next one more. K x

  5. Maggiee says:

    Oh my… 5.30am start time!!! AND then I read you weren’t at work???!!!! Wowza! You’ve way more energy than me… gauranteed I won’t see what the world looks like before 9am next week!

  6. lazybetty says:

    rule 71 – no such thing as an unsuccessful run!

Leave a Reply

