Happy Mother’s Day

Mother’s day is traditionally a day when Mum gets to stay in bed and relax all day, my day was not going to quite work out like that, but for that I have only myself to blame.

Sleep did not happen very much last night, never does the night before a race, so expected that. The cat decided he wanted to come in at 5 am and let me know that by coming up to our bedroom window so I would open it and let him in. This is a new trick and I am sooooooooo pleased he has learnt this. Now in a loose, loose situation with him, if he stays in at night he gets me up any time after 3 am to let him out, now if he is out he will appear at the bedroom window to be let in! Oh joy. I know the answer is a cat flap but hubby is not keen but now new trick is in place, he might change his mind, hopefully.

Set off for Sandy10 at 7.15 am, nearly got lost but managed to find my way. Why is it when I want to follow a B road it is never signposted as such, just the villages along the way and when you only know the destination town and not the bits in between it is not very helpful is it? On arrival in Sandy I discovered 3 things 1) I was the first there seeing as I arrived 2 hours ahead of start time 2) I had forgotten my banana, so set off in search of one, ended up with flapjack instead! 3) Sandy is full of speed bumps and after 2 teas and 2 glasses of water it was the last thing I needed. Fortunately found the loo quite quickly narrowly avoiding a disaster.

Carla arrived shortly after and kindly presented me with a high vis foam roll, she is trying to prevent me being injured, it was really sweet of her to think of me, (maybe she is fed up with hearing about the knee on every blog). Not sure why it is high vis maybe this means I can do my floor exercises in the dark, hubby will pleased he loves conserving electricity.

 Anyway enough babbling:- on to the run. We set off at 10.30 a.m, we hung towards the back to give all those speed demons a chance to head off. I really think there should be a dress code introduced to these races, some of the guys shorts were sooo short I am amazed nothing could be seen dangling, not that I was looking I can assure you! Positively indecent! Sorry I was going to tell you about the run. We set off fine and Carla set the pace and a good one it was too, then we turned a corner to see a HUGE hill looming we groaned in harmony, both of us are from the flat lands neither of us like even the slightest slop and there was nothing slight about this one. Time for positive mantra I thought and tried to say over and over ‘I like hills’, but this was not helped by my calves shouting back ‘we don’t’, bit like in a pantomime when you say ‘oh no he isn’t’ and ‘oh yes he is’, but we made it and were then smug in the knowledge that from 8 miles it would be DOWN hill, yippee. The run was lovely and we passed by some gorgeous houses and scenery. At the 3 mile mark there was water station which we were both thankful of, I did struggle throwing down the plastic cup on the verge, especially as some of the locals were out supporting us, I could not bring myself to throw it on the ground so ran with it till found a bin, however at the 7 mile water station I did not care so sorry residents of Everton for dropping 2 cups in your hedgerows. The support along the way from marshals, and spectators was fantastic; some of the runners heading back were kind enough to give us a cheer too which was great. I spent a lot of the run following Carla, I passed the time trying to work out what it said on her socks but failed miserably, so Carla please tell what does it say? We passed a herd of donkeys, maybe herd is not the correct word, can’t think what it would be, is it pack, pride, gaggle? No idea anyway passed about 14 donkeys of all sizes I tried my best to get them to talk to me by hee hawing but they did not respond, the dogs opposite them did though! The donkeys were so cute. Not much else to report really the 10 miles passed uneventfully, we completed it in under 2 hours which was the aim so a MASSIVE well done to Carla for managing her first race in under her goal time. I enjoyed it, it was nice to do my Sunday long run somewhere else and to see Carla again. We are going to be back next year to take on that hill again. Gulp!

Arrived home and jumped in to my waiting bath after downing a glass of water that madam had ready for me. I soaked for a while and enjoyed a cup of tea whilst soaking. I did well for Mother’s Day gifts, little madam bought me a high vis sweat wicking running jacket which I really want and needed, middle madam gave me a lovely bunch of flowers and big madam sent a beautiful arrangement of lilies and roses. I am a lucky Mum, now on to the rest part of my day, with hubby cooking dinner!

 Oh what a perfect day

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  1. maggie says:

    That sounds like a great run… fun and a great time! Well done… so pleased you’ve been pampered since as well… enjoy the rest of Mother’s Day 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sandy 10 miles « Fortnightflo's Blog

  3. fortnightflo says:

    LOL poor you – I think it says Run 365. Thanks again so much for today you made it so much fun! Oh and the dayglo foam roll…obviously I was thinking about saving energy – just make sure you bluddy use it woman!!!

  4. lazybetty says:

    well done Shaz! sounds like you had a great day- glad your knee is improved

  5. abradypus says:

    Cat flaps are ace – you should definitely get one. I’m glad the Sandy 10 went well and that (a) your knee held up and (b) Carla bet her target time. Congrats all round. PS Drove, herd and pace seem to be the three options for a flock of donkeys 🙂

  6. oldbagrunning says:

    well done!! great time 🙂

  7. serunner says:

    Well done – sounds like you and Flo had a fantastic time. Sorry I didn’t get round to meeting you guys.

    There were some lovely houses en route, I think I remember seeing one with a For Sale sign outside and I slowed down to have a little look before reminding myself I was meant to be running!

  8. runtezza says:

    Great post — I take it ‘no knees is good news’? You clearly weren’t running hard enough if you were able to bray at those donkeys!

  9. Well done! I love any post/run with a donkey in, so a whole field definitely gets my vote. Brilliant!

  10. Pingback: Race 4 of 12 – Sandy 10 Mile « Moving Along's Blog

  11. jensruns2011 says:

    Well done! Sounds like a great day all round! Hope the knees OK? 🙂

Leave a Reply

