Lazy week

After my 8 mile on Sunday the plan was to run couple of times this week prior to Sunday. However this has not happened.

Monday was a day where everything went wrong including going to the Doctors and having to leave to take madam swimming without seeing anyone as appointments were running over. The knee continued to be stiff so laid off pounding the streets in the early hours (can never get my mind round the clock change thing so gutted to find 5 am plunged back in to darkness not light as I had anticipated!) so returned to Doctors on Wednesday. As I hopped up on to her couch so she could prod and poke my knee she caught a glimpse of the bunion on my right foot. Her eyes gleamed “we could make your foot look so much nicer by removing that” she said (am sure she is on some kind of bunion removal commission!), fortunately I had just read an article in RW magazine that said that unless this is causing pain to leave it and it mentioned 12 weeks no running after op, so without hesitation I assured her it was fine and as I am not prone to wearing strappy sandals (feet just too wide for anything elegant) am not bothered bovvered about pretty feet. She sent me on my way with anti-inflammatories as well as 2 other prescriptions and I proceeded to the chemists feeling like a complete junkie and where I assured the pharmacist that I was healthy really.

The final words the Doctor were “Dont do anything strenuous” I promise it slipped my mind to mention that I have a 10 miler coming up, but as fortnightflo says if we take it slow it wont be strenuous. So have laid off running all week and the meds seem to have taken effect immediately and the swelling has gone down and knee feeling good. Long may that continue.

As soon as Sunday out the way need to focus on Bupa 10k, still looking for a miracle training plan!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lazy week

  1. lazybetty says:

    Shaz you are becoming truly hardcore!

  2. abradypus says:

    Good luck with Sandy. I’m not enirely sure that I agree that a ten miler can be classed as unstrenuous, but I will bow to your judgement.

  3. oldbagrunning says:

    good luck! the BUPA will be easy after that 🙂

  4. Diana says:

    Seeee…your body IS talking to you….no running and it “heals itself”!!! LISTEN up girl!!!

  5. fortnightflo says:

    LOL – I said it wasn’t strenuous for YOU!! 12-13m miles will be a breeze for you – still hard for me! Can’t wait – speak to you tomorrow x

Leave a Reply

