The joy of the early morning run!

I get the distinct impression from comments left that a majority of you think my sanity should be in question for running at 5 a.m. So today I will try to convince you lazy lay in bedders that this is indeed the best time to run.

Heres why:-

  • No traffic to wait for before crossing roads 
  • No cyclists on the path
  • No doggy walkers to avoid
  • No one you know will see you out running as they are all in bed
  • The birds singing is the only noise:-cant run with Ipod as not safe
  • Feel smug all day as my exercise done
  • No opportunity to delay run by thinking of feeble excuse (believe me I can think of them during the course of a day) just get up and go
  • This morning I went out in the dark and returned in the semi-light
  • Next week I will see the sun rise

So come on you lay in bedders set your alarms and give it ago, its the best!

(Ran 4 miles this morning, slow but feel legs tired after having to walk home from work yesterday as puncture on bike!)

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The joy of the early morning run!

  1. Rachel B says:

    We like to make you feel like you are crazy. Truth is we are just jealous because I certainly don’t have the self motivation to get out of bed until I’m forced! Promise I’ll try it one day!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    I’ll second what she just said!

  3. jensruns2011 says:

    I agree with them!! They’re all valid points you raise I’m sure, for why it’s the best time to run, but I’m not going to be going for a 5am run anytime soon I can assure you! 🙂

  4. lazybetty says:

    ooh Shaz I definitely think you are barking…in a nice way of course! you’ll be barefoot running on the Thames path next!

  5. abradypus says:

    Ummmmmm – shan’t. Besides, if we all did it then you wouldn’t be able to run in splendid isolation. I’ll stick to my commuting.

  6. oldbagrunning says:

    Good points, and I definitely prefer to run first thing in the morning, but my brain and body does not want to function at 5am 🙂

  7. Pingback: Shake, rattle and roll | abradypus

Leave a Reply

