Running stuff everywhere and still no running

Physio part 2 today.

Firstly she put me on the treadmill to check my gait. I hate the things and spent a few minutes gripping to the front of the thing till she persuaded me to let go, really dont like the sense of feeling that I am not in control. She then filmed my effort (sure to be an Oscar nomination for that as best supporting running stance) and replayed it to me. Yep I overpronate, my foot arch has collapsed a bit and this leads to the foot turning inwards and then the knees this all equals knee injury (she tells me running everyday will have contributed somewhat to this also! oops) More massage this time on the tight calves followed by ultrasound therapy on the knee, she can see improvement from last week so am pleased with that. Was then sent away with new exercises to add to current list. Have new insoles to give support and an appointment for physio in 2 weeks.

Running? No not yet, (grrr) can cycle and swim though (no not at the same time) so may cycle to work on Monday and try to swim later in week. Useless at swimming though for many reasons, can only do breast stroke slowly, wont be able to see anything as can’t wear contact lens anymore and when I swim it makes me very hungry so will have to chocolate before I drive home. 

I’m so ready to go for a run, have ordered new boulder holder, have new insoles, have downloaded 2 new audio books,  all I need is the all clear and that miracle training plan that involves of course little effort and now needs to incorporate little time and one that meets with the physios approval. Miracle surely needed!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Running stuff everywhere and still no running

  1. runorgocrazy says:

    Imagine how good that first run will feel. You’ll be floating!

  2. abradypus says:

    There may be a silver lining to this forced inactivity…by the time you get the all clear for running, you’ll be such a dab hand at cycling and swimming that you’ll be able to try your hand at triathlon.

  3. oldbagrunning says:

    shazrunswow, that gait analysis sounds good! if you cycle in the rain, you could swim and cycle at the same time lol!
    I agree with abradypus – ‘Shazruns, the new triathlon queen!’

  4. jensruns2011 says:

    Physio sounds like it’s going well. Frustrating I can imagine though being told not to run. Hopefully though once your knee has improved and you’ve back running you’ll feel the benefit for having had the break 🙂

  5. At least you’re on the road to a solution and hopefully soon you’ll be back on the road yourself!

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Oooh isn’t it amazing what they can tell?? You must really ensure you treat this as rest time so that when you can run again you can if you get what I mean. Don’t worry about Sandy.
    I get *exactly* the same thing when swimming – so bloody hungry…why is that?

Leave a Reply

