So long fair well!

Friday the optician decided they wanted to see me before the procedure to check my eyesight had not changed. All weekend I have lived with the possibility that they might well delay the op if they thought it was necessary. I was hugely disappointed to get this call on Friday, as so ready to have it done. Fortunately went along today and was given the all clear hip hip hooray!

This will mean

No more wearing contacts

  • No more agony when dirt gets underneath them
  • No more having to leave a beach on a windy day as eyes are streaming
  • No more cleaning, soaking and contact solution
  • No more spending hours looking for them when drop them on the floor
  • No more taking the sink apart to rescue one from the u bend
  • No more removing them before bed
  • No more waking up and remembering I have not removed them before bed
  • No more direct debit to Boots

Goodbye contact lenses

This will also mean

No More glasses

  • No more cleaning them constantly
  • No more peering through them or putting them on my head  so I can read
  • No more pushing them up my nose as really don’t fit
  • No more wonky eyes as really don’t fit
  • No more getting stuck in my jumper as forget to remove them when undressing
  • No more asking madam to find them as cant see where I have put them
  • No more steaming up in the bathroom
  • No more steaming up when opening the oven or dishwasher
  • No more steaming up when coming in from a run
  • No more steaming up when drinking tea
  • No more cursing when don’t put lenses in and it rains
  • No more having to wear contacts in the summer so can wear sunglasses, cool
  • No more spending hours trying on glasses in Boots, useless activity as cant see what I look like anyway unless have glasses on
  • No more spending fortune on glasses

After 30 years GOODBYE GLASSES

Almost forgot this blog is meant to be about running! Sorry! Am just so excited!Today was my last run of my extended Janathon. This morning I did an uneventful 4.96 mile. (Making it a total of 205 2011 miles) Saw one other runner, gave him a cheery ‘morning’, he jumped out of his skin and grunted something back. Miserable git.  He wasn’t wearing anything high vis, he is lucky I saw him at all, what’s more he was old enough to know better. Bah. So thats it for a week am really hope I don’t replace running with eating, won’t be blogging either unless I can lay my hands on a Braille keyboard. So all you Janathon bloggers keep running and blogging will catch up with you at the end of the week

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to So long fair well!

  1. lazybetty says:

    That’s such great news. Very best wishes with the procedure.

  2. Sally says:

    Do let us know how it goes – I have contact lenses too but have never had the guts to go for the op – hope all goes well

  3. Giselle says:

    Hope it goes well. Make sure you have some very dark glasses and audio books ready. It’s definitely worth it!! Looking forward to when you’re back!

  4. abradypus says:

    Hope it goes smoothly and that we hear from you soon.

  5. ewoodeson says:

    Good Luck with the lasers – hope it goes well.
    Enjoy your week off – you have most certainly earnt it!! (and a few choccies I would have thought ;-P)

  6. EM says:

    Congrats on finishing your goal of Feb. 14th! I had NO idea you were getting laser eye surgery! Hope it goes well and let me know how it goes and how the recovery is! 205 miles is A LOT, especially at 5am! So proud!

  7. Diana says:

    Yeah, Sharon!!!! congrats on the impressive “miles ran” and good luck to you with the eye surgery. Come March, you’ll be a NEW WOMAN!!!! Talk to you later. Diana

  8. fortnightflo says:

    Fingers crossed everything went well. Am hoping your hubby will read these comments to you whilst you are eyeless. So Hi!! lovely Essex type hubby, please give Shaz a big hug to say yay no more glasses! You’re not missing much as I’ve not added any posts since Saturday – am nursing a very sore throat and can barely breathe normally so missed running club booo! Whilst you’re searching for that sub 40 mins 10K, can you please find me a 10 mile plan in 6 weeks 4 days that will get me around alive??? Thanks xx LOL feel better soon.

  9. jensruns2011 says:

    Yay, hurrah! And very well done on completed your extended Janathon too, very dedicated! 🙂

Leave a Reply

