Day release pass secured, let the parkrun training commence!

Now most people start training for an event weeks if not months before it is to take place. Not me the parkrun is on Saturday, training started tonight. fortnightflo and  abradypus have kindly coerced invited me to join them this Saturday at the Finsbury Park Parkrun. This is prior to Janathon meet up at Hyde Park for 5k run part two, we must be mad. Having spent the last 5 weeks hearing about Parkruns I am very excited to be partaking in one. Been on-line got my bar code, now all I need to do is wash my kit (must make sure the running capris without the paint stains are available), don’t want my fellow Janathoners to smell me coming.

Today at work we had some training with the boss and unfortunately I fell asleep! Not a great career move admittedly but one minute I was awake the next asleep. Had to then stand for the rest of the session by the window. The result of this was that I then felt sick for the rest of the afternoon, so when got home really did not want to go for a run. But out the door I went thinking that if all did not fo well could cut it short. Managed the 3 mile training for parkrun run, so was pleased. Can’t possibly reveal the time I took don’t want to give the game away to the fellow Finsbury Park competitors!

 Knee held up well and when I had showered I put gel on  it. No not hair gel this was gel for the joints and a free sample that has been in the medicine cabinet since 2005, do hope it does not have a use by date. This goop, looks like Marmite and smells like liquorice but I tell you as unattractive as that sounds this has worked wonders and I feel like I have had a knee replacement. Day 2 of the training plan is intervals and then Friday is obviously carb loading day (yum) and tapering day, I do hope you don’t think I am taking this too seriously!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day release pass secured, let the parkrun training commence!

  1. abradypus says:

    See you on Saturday!

  2. Hardcore lot… see you afterwards to hear about the PBs…

  3. runorgocrazy says:

    Fab how exciting! Can’t wait to hear all about both. Maybe I’ll do a parkrun to be in sync?

  4. Jogalog says:

    2 runs planned for Saturday! Well done. Will try and make it to the second one but not sure if I’ll be able to yet.

  5. Pingback: Thanks Local Adventures « Fortnightflo's Blog

  6. fortnightflo says:

    I think you’re secretly a sprint runner and you’re going to get a PB of something like 21 minutes and that’s why you’re keeping it secret!! Haha wouldn’t that be FAB!

  7. Adele says:

    Ah, I used to do the Finsbury Parkrun before we moved south of the river! Little tip for you, there is a bit of a hill about 2k in and, as it’s a two lap run, you hit it again before a flat bit then a sprint for the finish. Enjoy the Parkrun, it’s a friendly race and people go to the cafe afterwards to warm up.

    I didn’t realise the Janathon get-together run was a race, far from it I would imagine!

  8. Vikki says:

    You are definitely taking parkrun WAY too seriously!!! Training for it? Parkrun IS my training.

Leave a Reply

