Sort of intervals

For the first time in 2011 I failed to get up for my early morning run! Every time I rolled over in the night my knee hurt, the pain had now moved to under the knee cap and was very sore. I would refer to it as ‘runners knee’ but fear being prosecuted under the trade description act. Common sense amazingly prevailed and I decided to leave the run till after work when hopefully the pain would have eased. So got out of bed feeling like this

so did a bit of thisand thisand thistill it felt a bit less painful.

Decided on a three mile intervalish run today. It went amazing well, not very formatted like intervals are meant to be, more like had run from a to b, then slow till catch breath and then hard run again. The catching breath running obviously out weighed the hard running. Was quite pleased with the outcome Mr Garmin says my top pace was 7.05, I wondered why I could smell burning rubber.

The run itself was uneventful except for when I passed a woman walker who exclaimed as I went by “that wasn’t very lady like was it”, I thought she was talking about my running gait at this point, but she went on to add “I was just getting my knickers out of my bum!”, this made me laugh and I assured her I had not noticed. Bum eating knickers are not comfortable, not that I’m speaking from experience you understand.

Janathon plus tw0 = 3 miles of hard/easy running, this went better than I anticipated. More tomorrow then.

Congratulations to all Janathon prize winners, well deserved.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sort of intervals

  1. Well done hope the knee is ok

  2. fortnightflo says:

    ouch – sounds painful, glad it didn’t stop you running…and yes you are definately mad! 7am is CRAZILY early!

Leave a Reply

