To run or not to run is not the question………

……… to run lots or not that is the question.

Today its cold, even in the house its cold, brrr.

Insomnia hit me last night this is not usually something I suffer from, think it might be due to the late run and even later dinner. I laid in bed trying to work out how many miles I could possibly achieve by 31 January, my maths is useless at the best of times but laying in bed trying to tally things up was a nightmare literally. Not counting sheep counting Janathon miles, it worked eventually, but before I had worked out a target mileage to aim for, or one that I remember anyway! Now in daylight, I have pondered all day whether to really push for lots of miles in the next four runs or to ease off a bit and rest the spongy knee.  This would leave me with a mileage I could aim to beat in Junathon, yep planning on coming back, anyone else up for it? Still undecided, but know will do 6 tonight to bring me to 135 in total to date.(Its cold outside though) Saturday, Sunday and Monday are still a mathematical puzzle.

On the sleeping topic hubby tells me I run in my sleep at night! My Mum says my Dad, he was a top athlete in his time, (that DNA missed me)  used to do this before race days. Anyone else been pounding the streets in bed at night or dreamt of blogging?

Running World complete with young slim blonde on the front cover (Grrrr – usual service) landed on the doormat yesterday and I picked up Women’s Running last night (excellent magazine) so have spent the day reading them. I’ve learnt that apparently ‘running gives you a flat tummy fast’ in which case I’d like to know where my 6 pack is, at the moment it is more like a dozen pack. I also discovered that I need to run more hills, more fartlek and more intervals if I want to lose weight which I do, so will have to bite that bullet come February oh joy. Apparently intervals burn 4 times the amount of fat than long slow runs  Can we start Janathon again please? Would rather run every day a  slow plod than do hills, fartlek or intervals. Must give up reading running magazines potentially dangerous to my health.

Its cold today can’t seem to get warm.

By 6 p.m when hubby got in it was minus 1, so the 6 mile run I had planned dropped to a 1 mile quickie. The freshly washed kit was warmed on the heater, its cold today, putting this on was heaven, forcing myself out the door (first time in Janathon I have wanted to stay in) was hell, it was so cooooooooooooold. I kept begging them indoors, not to make me go out, but that fell on deaf ears like most things I say.

Off  I set a little warm up because it was cold and then a hard one mile run. Managed this in 8.43 which was a whole 10 seconds faster than earlier in the week and a Janathon PB. Yipee. Successful run,  wish now I had gone longer but I’m warm now and its cold out there.

Hope those left to do their run today wrap up warm, nearly there now

Tonights dinner my fav

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to To run or not to run is not the question………

  1. iliketocount says:

    Simply can’t wait for the end of the month but the thought of not doing Juneathon should be punishable by lots of things!
    Mine’s planned as cycling to work everyday (32 mile round trip) and running a steady 3 miles a day to avoid utter exhaustion with some odd extras along the way including the Crisis square mile run.
    I’m excited already – somehow Juneathon always throws up calendar problems that make juggling a run and blog very hard compared to the relative straightforwardness of Janathon!

  2. fortnightflo says:

    mmmmm fish fingers, chips and beans yum!! I need to treat myself to that on Monday night now….well done on getting out was bloody cold tonight anyone that went out deserves a medal!

  3. Snap – everything you have said really rings home true – thank you for writing it – at least I know there are others who have the same thought patterns to get out there and actually run – I always imagine that I am the only person who struggles to get out there. Always pleased with myself after the run though – well done – 3 days and counting – goodness knows how I am going to keep going in February!

  4. ooh, good for you getting out there in the cold. and a PB too. did you get the old steamy glasses thing when you got back?

  5. runorgocrazy says:

    Good work for getting out there, it is too cold! I asked my hubbie if we could move to a volcano today….I suppose that would be a bit extreme!

  6. runtezza says:

    Fishfingers — bliss! Haven’t had them for a while, now determined to at soonest opp!

Leave a Reply

