Windy run

Woke at 8.15 which was heaven, doesn’t happen often in this house as madam is an early riser, but of course had been awake in the night with that cough, cough, cough, more Chinese water treatment. Had to give her medicine at 2 a.m not easy when she is on the top bunk and protesting about having the cough mixture, I am standing there trying to focus on the spoon, no glasses and sleepy eyes it was not easy indeed. 

Our neighbour was having a new fence put in today, this traumatized the not very brave cat, took me ages whistling to get him in. I know whistling for a moggy is strange, but it works normally. He has since retired upstairs, without eating, why is it no-one else wants to eat and that is ALL I want to do.

I took charge of the TV entertainment today so we watched Mama Mia, it really makes me laugh, it is what I needed. Pierce Brosnan’s singing is the funniest, I can really relate to this as I would sound very similar worse.

Cooked Enchiladas for dinner, there was way too much meat mixture to divide between the tortillas so improvised and made Enchilada Lasagne! The recipe called for me to ‘slake’.This sounded painful! I have been cooking for 30 years  a few years and have an O’level in cooking and have never heard of the term, found it on the web and this is the definition for those of you who like me were in the dark, Slake – The mixing of a thickening agent, such as arrowroot or cornstarch, with some type of liquid. Nothing if not informative and educational!

After day four of house confinement, I bolted out of the house like a racehorse out of the starting gates (well ok I was more like a donkey actually), but it was good to get out and breathe that fresh cold air in. Boy was it fresh and cold too, I only wear Capri running trousers, so about 4 inches of my legs got really cold. I kept fleece and coat on all the time. the gloves were on, then off, then on, then off and then on and off again, I hate having cold hands and hot hands also, nightmare. The wind was bad too tonight, now I’d like to point my finger at the weather for this but no it wasn’t that kind of wind, I was definitely gas-powered tonight! Sorry just sharing!. When I set out was not sure how long I would go for, but wanted to do a long one after being cooped up at about the 8.5 mile mark knew I’d only make 9 miles as the tummy was sore. Fortunately I got in and in the bathroom in time, that is it no more bran cereal for me! This is something I know, but supplies low due to house confinement and thought one helping would not hurt, boy was I wrong that was dangerous as well as almost disastrous.

Run 9 miles time1.36 calories burnt 1008

Mexican Italian dinner was scrummy

4 Janathon days to go make them count Janathoners!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Windy run

  1. stephenamp says:

    This enchilasagne thing sounds superb. Enchiladas? My favourite. Lasagne? Up there. A combination of both? Marriage made in food heaven. Oh and watch out with those bran flakes – there’s a reason Chris Hoy broke all those records. 😉

  2. Maggiee says:

    ha ha… I’ve had to be so careful recently with what I eat before I run… I had a similar experience last week when I stuffed my face with cakes in a meeting, then had a mad final mile dash for home… no more cakes before running! Great job on the run today and I LOVE Mama Mia… It’s so much a guilty pleasure! 🙂

  3. Hey am loving the calorie usage. Sorry you had a ‘ Paula Radcliffe’ moment, tee hee. Hope little madam is on the mend and you all geta good nights sleep in your own beds!

  4. jensruns2011 says:

    Glad to hear you made it back in time…nightmare! Great distance tonight 🙂

  5. runtezza says:

    TMI!! But am definitely going to have a slake soon. How does that usage of the word relate to e.g. ‘Slake your thirst on this pint of beer, me hearty’ I wonder? Great miles by the way. I too have hot/cold hand anxiety — so have gloves of different warmth ratings. Sad isn’t it.

  6. Great run distance.
    Like the movie choice, thats a good one to lift the spirits. Shame my boys are less keen on re runs of it.
    3 days to go…

  7. Cazza says:

    Looking forward to having the seat next to me at work filled again with a Janothoner!!!!x

Leave a Reply

