Serendipity on Janathon day 21

No run in the dark this morning as had to leave early to fight the battle of the traffic on the M25 and the QE2 bridge. The traffic gods were smiling on me today and I made it in to Kent with time to spare.

Got back home in time to run before doing school pick up so was pleased as another run in daylight. I pondered which route to take, the normal on the path run or the nicer route on the bike path which is more rural and scenic. I opted for the latter as can’t run this route in the dark, but this is doggy walk route also and after yesterdays experience was not keen to expose my legs again to the four-legged creatures. Before I headed out the door I checked the advice I got yesterday on dealing with the canines so felt prepared:-need to snarl and growl unless a big dog, do a knee lift to knock it on its back or if it is an ankle biter kick my bum to ward it off, yep I was ready.

Out the door and within 20 seconds saw a squirrel and I know some of you Janathoners think squirrels are up to some kind of funny business, but have to say I was thrilled to see one bound across the path in front of me, you have to bare in mind this is the first bit of wildlife I have seen in the past 21 days, don’t feel you can count postman as wildlife and that’s all I normally see. The legs felt ok which was a relief as last night were very stiff. The inevitable happened when I came upon the hound walkers and one large one came over to me jumping, barking running, well I just stopped did not want to try any of the great advice as the owners were just too close, thought they might panic if I started growling and kicking my legs in various directions.

I was listening to my first episode of Marathon Talk, this was informative and entertaining and I thought pitched at the right level, so thanks to the Janathoner who recommended it on their blog. I had to listen to part 2 as part 1 for some reason did not download this was indeed serendipitous as Liz Yelling’s hubby had a rant about dog owners and their pets. I was pleased to hear I was not the only one fed up with man’s best friend. His excellent point was that the outdoors is for us to share and we as runners don’t go up to walkers, jump up and lick their faces, although this might be an idea but fear I might get arrested.

Did 4 miles in a good time again under 10  min mile pace (hurrah), had a bath when I got in whilst finishing listening to Marathon Talk and was just about to make a cup of tea when the school called, madam in the office not well could I pick her up. So this sets the tone for my weekend, playing Florence Nightingale oh do hope I don’t catch whatever it is.

Recycled Trainers!

Rather him than me!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Serendipity on Janathon day 21

  1. Sheri says:

    Oh, I’ve been meaning to check out Marathon Talk, thanks for the reminder. Actually, have just had thought about squirrels. Are they not meant to be hibernating? It is nice to see wildlife (except postman who only brings bills) but I haven’t seen much lately.

  2. runtezza says:

    Hope your littl’un gets better soon, and you don’t succumb to whatever it is. With all this exercise your immune system must be pretty impregnable.

  3. stephenamp says:

    I was looking for a good running podcast – will try Marathon Talk. Don’t think that trainer-bicycle looks very comfortable… at the very least I hope they’re have air/gel padding!

  4. EM says:

    Sharon, only 9 more days after today! I am so proud! Thanks for the comments you have left on my blog and are you SURE you do not want to come and visit after my last posting?!?! Unfortunately I do not think I will be able to keep up with your last 9 days while I am gone but I wish you the best and I look forward to reading about them upon my return. Until then, keep running, keep blogging, and try and enjoy it! xoxo

  5. hope you don’t get the lurgy, well not until after Janathon anyway! have a good weekend!

  6. Caroline Fagg says:

    Run Shazza run and watch out for those dogs

  7. abradypus says:

    O – go on. Jump up at a walker and lick his face. I dare you!

Leave a Reply

